Internet file on flashed phone with 2.2


Last Updated:

  1. 5280Man

    5280Man Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    25
    I am really hoping someone can help me in this situation. First of all I have a Droid X flashed to Cricket. All was well including 3g internet. That is until last week when I decided to upgrade to 2.2. I lost the internet. Went back to where I had it flashed. He had to wipe the phone and reflash it. This included him pushing the file to the phone that gives me internet. The phone worked the rest of that day. Then the next morning the phone kept locking up. I took it back to him again, he wiped it reflashed it and pushed the file again with the same result of it locking up. We found that it was the internet file that was locking up the phone. As of right now it is flashed without the internet working. If we push that file to the phone it locks it up. The same file that gave me internet when I was on 2.1. My question is, is there a way for me to be on 2.2 and get the internet on Cricket? Why is this happening? How do I make it work without going back to 2.1?

    Thanks in advance for your help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    try flashing a different rom but format your data and wipe cache as a precaution
     
  3. 5280Man

    5280Man Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    25
    A different ROM? Like 2.1? I currently have 2.2 from the upgrade option in settings. And what do you mean by format my data? Thanx for your help!
     
  4. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    are you rooted? and are you on a rom? i figured you were since you posted this in the all things root
     
  5. 5280Man

    5280Man Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    25
    I am not currently rooted, however, I was rooted since I got the phone new and had it flashed to Cricket. I posted this in the 'All things rooted' section because I will be rooting the phone again. When I had the phone reset and reflashed and we figured out it was the internet file that was causing the problem we didn't continue with a root. We just stopped there since the phone was working and I had to have a working phone. I do have the 'SuperUser' application on the phone, not sure if that indicates I am rooted.

    Anyway, I am not on a rom. I only have 2.2 downloaded via the option on the phone. I do have some info to share and a question. I spoke with someone else today that flashes phones to Cricket and they said that they have come across the problem of flashed phones losing the internet when they are upgraded to 2.2. Apparently this problem is not specific to my phone. Their suggestion was to downgrade the phone to 2.1 and reload the internet file to get internet again. Hmmm..... not something I really want to do after using 2.2 and really liking it! But if that's what I have to do then I will.

    Any suggestions, advice or experience with this? Does the Cricket system just not work with 2.2? If that's the case, then does each carrier have to make a change to their network whenever there is an android update? Just curious on that. I didn't think it would matter to the service what version of android you are running. Is there an internet file for Cricket that will work with 2.2? Or as I already asked, anything else?

    Again, thanks for your help!
     
  6. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    i will be honest i have never heard of cricket, sounds like its very buggy, a good fix would require you spend a little bit of money, however what you could do is flash back to 2.2 with the 2.2 sbf file, and that basically puts your phone back to stock, and you can then reroot the phone again, i would definitely suggest downloading rom manager and bootstrap recovery, bootstrap will cost you $3-4 but if there is anything else you have questions about or it doesnt work post it and let me know
     
  7. 5280Man

    5280Man Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    25
    Flash back to 2.2? Do you mean flash back to 2.1 which is what the phone had when it was new. Everything worked great on 2.1, it was when I upgraded to 2.2 that the internet file had issues and started to lock the phone up. If I stay on 2.2 and push the internet file to the phone it locks the phone up. Could it be that we are using an internet file made for 2.1 and are trying to use it with 2.2? Is there a different file? Or as I asked earlier, could it be the service not liking 2.2?

    In the above post are you saying that I should flash back to 2.1 and download ROM manager and bootstrap? If I go back to 2.1 the internet file works. Also, am I able to get back to 2.1? Not really wanting to, just trying to figure out why 2.2 isn't working and if there is a way to make it work.

    Thanks!!
     
  8. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    Yes sorry I thought u updated ota, flash back to 2.1 then use rom manager to download stock 2.2 update and reinstall whatever u want
     
  9. 5280Man

    5280Man Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    25
    Updated ota? What does ota stand for? I updated to 2.2 under the options in phone information. It gave me an option to check for updates and upgrade. If Motorola gave me the option on the Droid X wouldn't that be a stock 2.2 update? How would I go about going back to 2.1?
     
  10. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    18
    OTA= Over The Air
     
  11. 5280Man

    5280Man Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    25
    That's what I thought it meant. So yes, I did the update ota.
     
  12. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    Then u have to flash back using the new 2.2 method, cause using the 2.1 method will in fact brick your phone
     
  13. 5280Man

    5280Man Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    25
    Flash back to 2.1 using the 2.2 method? How do I use the 2.2 method to get back to 2.1? So what you're saying is that I have to get back to 2.1 for me to get the internet file to work?
     
  14. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    No u have to go back to stock 2.2, however if u have installed a rom or rooted then u can take the phone back n get a new one, but what is the cricket thing you were talking about?
     
  15. 5280Man

    5280Man Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    25
    From my understanding I am using stock 2.2. If it was an option from motorola via my phone would that a stock version? Or is that a motorola version? Cricket is a cell service provider in certain markets in the US. It's a CDMA carrier. My phone is a Verizon phone flashed to Cricket.
     
  16. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    It sounds like it is the provider, try downloading a different browser and see how that works, u may have to find ur friend that flashed it n have him flash it back to verizon
     
  17. 5280Man

    5280Man Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    25
    So you do believe it's the service? A different browser? I don't think it's the browser due to it has problems before I can ever even use a browser. We found after doing the flash and reset a few times that it would only lock up when we pushed the internet file to the phone. Is there a possibility that it could be the browser? And as for flashing it back to Verizon, why? I don't have a Verizon account. I only have a Cricket account. Are you thinking I have to go back to 2.1 to get it to work?

    My original question in this thread is, is there a way to get the internet to work on Cricket while the phone is on 2.2?
     
  18. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    Try downloading mozilla or dolphin browser, you may need to do a factory reset, but if that doesn't work I dunno what else to tell ya man, its not a known issue that happens alot, and I didn't know anything about cricket and I still don't, so u may need to continue taking it back to the same guy, I hate telling you that but if a new browser doesnt work or a factory reset doesn't work then I dunno but i hope your situation can be fixed easily
     

Share This Page

Loading...