Internet While On A Phone Call


Last Updated:

  1. Guitarified

    Guitarified Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Couldn't find a thread about this for the Hero...I apologize if there is one.

    Since I got my Hero in November, I've been able to use the internet while on a phone call through my Bluetooth headset. I've done it hundreds of times. Everything from surfing the web to clicking and viewing picture links in Twitter texts. Suddenly, tonight, I tried to do it and noticed that I had no internet connection. As soon as I hung up from the call, the internet kicked back on. I looked up what I was trying to look up and when I got another phone call, it kicked off again.

    I have looked up this issue and have read repeatedly that you can't do this on a CDMA network. My question is this...why was I able to do it for months and suddenly I'm not? I just did it last night!
     

    Advertisement
  2. rssolo23

    rssolo23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    The part about the CDMA network not allowing you to use the internet while on the phone is 100% true. However, there could be possibilities that allowed you to do both -- either WiFi on while on a call (I haven't tested myself) or that the data that you've looked at has been cached on your phone somehow. I am able to see emails and write emails, but I'm not able to send emails until I'm off the phone. Browsing the internet is definitely a no-no.
     
  3. Guitarified

    Guitarified Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm definitely confused then, because I don't use wifi and I have definitely done this many, many times. Not just cached pages either. Just last night, while talking to a friend on the phone, I looked up 3 products on both Amazon and Walmart and read a few reviews to him. I also get Twitter texts and when a brand new text would come in with a link to a picture, I was able to click that link and see the picture that the person had just put up...all while talking on the phone. Also used it several times to look at new pictures someone had just put up on Facebook as I was talking to them. Also talked to someone while they were emailing me something...and then went to my Yahoo Mail via my browser to verify that I had received the email.

    As I said, I'm confused...and pretty bummed that it doesn't work anymore.
     
  4. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    You must be roaming on gsm bands as this isn't possible with cdma.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  5. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    I don't think CDMA phones can roam on GSM networks. I thought they were different hardware. I could be wrong though.

    To the OP, when you were using data and talking at the same time, where were you? Home, in the car, etc? The only time I have been able to use data while on the phone is if I have WiFi on.
     
  6. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    Luke Wilson!
     
  7. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    I am not a violent person, but whenever I see him in an AT&T add, I have this overwhelming urge to punch him in the face.
     
  8. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Just do not get too overzealous and punch your television screen. That will hurt and likely break the screen or your hand, whichever is weaker. ;)

    On topic: You really cannot use mobile data while on a phone call with a CDMA phone. I do believe a Sprint HTC EVO 4G can pull this off if you are using 4G mobile data though. Of course, as others have stated, you can do this by being logged into a Wi-Fi hotspot as well. :cool:
     
  9. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47

    I too, want nothing but the WORST for Luke Wilson, all because of his LAME ASS AT&T commercials...
     
  10. jeremylobaugh

    jeremylobaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'm not going to tell you anything you haven't seen in this thread yet, I have worked on Sprint's CDMA network for almost 5 years now, I know the technology better than most, and it is impossible to be on an active phone call and use 1X or EVDO data simultaneously. Wi-Fi is certainly usable while on a call, as is 4G if you have a capable handset. AT&T can pull this off, because their 3G network operates much in the same way Sprint's 4G network does, it's a separate frequency, using different equipment at the cell site.:)

    Now I am going to tell you something that may explain what happened. Sometimes, we encounter something we like to call 'FM', Friggin' Magic. If you happen to live near the border between two markets, it is possible, that you may have picked up voice from one market and EVDO from the other. A large number of customer trouble tickets that I see are from our 'border towns', and strange stuff can happen there. The network is constantly being tweaked and optimized, software upgrades take place all of the time. Something may have been not working properly and it got caught during an upgrade and consequently fixed.
     
  11. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126

    Since you worked with cell phone networks, can you let me know if it is possible for a CDMA phone to roam on GSM? My understanding was they use different frequencies and required different hardware. True or not? And / or is their mode of data transmission different, roughly like FM vs AM?
     
  12. jeremylobaugh

    jeremylobaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    17
    I will keep this as simple as possible so it can be understood by a wide array of users. CDMA and GSM are as compatible as 8-tracks and CD's. Some CDMA handsets have the ability to roam on GSM networks because they have GSM radios in them, The Hero is not one of those handsets. And typically, the handsets that have GSM and CDMA do not contain the American GSM bands (given range of frequencies).

    GSM is not unlike TDMA, which was one of the first digital modes used by cellular providers, it works on time division principle, giving each phone on a given channel a time-slot in which to transmit their data. CDMA uses Carrier-division, all handsets transmit at the same time with a 'code' embedded in the signal, the site and the base station controller work together to strip each individual call out of the carrier, or RF channel.

    EVDO uses the same bands as CDMA voice, but it is modulated very similar to TDMA. I am not too familiar with Wi-Max or LTE (both 4G), but I know they use different bands, as does HSDPA and WCDMA.
     
    ifloydian and regression like this.
  13. barriegrant1

    barriegrant1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guitarified is not going crazy, i also was able to to view the internet and download files, use the market while in a phone call, then all of a sudden it stopped. I wasn't on wifi. My mates htc hero can still do it.
     
  14. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Where are you located? Do you have the CDMA or GSM version?
     
  15. EgeBamyasi

    EgeBamyasi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the fact that he used the term 'mates' gave it away! :rolleyes:
     
  16. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Gonna have to call SHENANIGANS on this whole thread now lol!
     
  17. jeremylobaugh

    jeremylobaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'll second that motion...All in favor say aye...all opposed, nay...motion is passed
     
  18. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    That is what I was getting at. He is probably using the GSM version of the Hero.
     
  19. EgeBamyasi

    EgeBamyasi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know, just an attempt at some humour, mate! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...