Invalid Recipient(s) error when replying to text messagesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. wrench

    wrench Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    43
    Occasionally, when I reply to a text message, I get an error that states: Invalid Recipient(s). If I back out of the message to the text msg inbox and go back in, I can reply without a problem.

    This is using the stock text messaging app. Anyone else experience this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Wiskid

    Wiskid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes I have... its annoying. I just do a long press/copy all, then back out and click on the persons name, then paste it. I have no idea what causes it, or if there is any sort of a fix for it.
     
  3. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    This has happened to me a few times too. Although, it is very rare. I think maybe once out of a thousand texts it will happen. So it is not a huge deal to me.

    If I have already typed the text message and this happens, I just long press the text and select copy all and then back out of the reply and then go back into it and paste the text back and it works fine. It is a few extra steps, but nothing too annoying to deal with when it does rear its ugly head.
     
  4. wrench

    wrench Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    43
    I'd estimate I get this with 5-10% of texts. Not something that makes me want to throw the phone, but it is a minor annoyance.
     
  5. hotpinklovee

    hotpinklovee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    This only happens to me when I'm texting a number I don't have saved in my contacts and accidentally press on one of their texts and pull up the "select link" screen. It's weird but it really doesn't happen to me that often.
     
  6. GWBL

    GWBL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was getting this message on a Samsung Vibrant even after trying various suggestions noted. What worked for me was:
    • Click messaging on home screen
    • Click new message
    • Click contacts
    • click to tick mark desired recipients
    • Click add
    • compose message
    • click send
    • each intended recipients message is shown separately
     
  7. tipso_calipso

    tipso_calipso New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get the same problem. Very annoying when you've hit reply and it claims that it's an invalid recipient. I found this only began happening after the carrier updated the Desire to Froyo.

    In the last couple days it has also been stating that I need to connect to a network before it will update the weather, or e-mails or anything else that needs a network connection, but it shows being connected to "H" on the top bar with data going both ways! Don't know if they're related, but seems like a similar problem.

    Hope someone can suggest a fix for the invalid recipient issue soon :(
     
  8. iamtapan

    iamtapan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I don't know if this will work for everyone and why it is the case at all. When you press space after the number in the contact details pane of the text message it seems to be fine.

    I attached a screen shot to help
    1386656084443.jpg
     
  9. iamtapan

    iamtapan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My screen shot above looks terrible😑 Hope you guys get around this. 😓
     

Share This Page

Loading...