Invisible Widgets


Last Updated:

  1. confabber

    confabber Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,
    I have a small problem on my i5700 running v2.1.
    I had added a couple of more Home Screens to the original 3. Had been playing around and many a time created shortcuts, added widgets & removed.

    Currently I have ended up 2 home screens having "Invisible Widgets". What this means is that there is a widget taking up 2x2 space so I cannot put more widgets or shortcuts on that area.

    Moreover if I try to remove all the rest of icons (to be able to remove to screens from Menu->Edit) I can see an empty screen but on Edit the red (-) sign does not come denoting that the screen is not empty.

    Is there any way I can get rid of these invisible widgets. I can't remember what I had added :(

    I might have already uninstalled the app.

    PS: I had a similar problem when I was on v1.5 cupcake. However afer restarting the phone the invisible widget had appeared (can't remember which widget). But now even after restarting no joy !!! :(

    Its not a major issue but really a nag
     

    Advertisement
  2. DaWeav

    DaWeav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    53
    This happens to me from time to time on the Sense UI with android apps from the market that have widgets. Not sure if it's the same for you, but for some reason HTC Sense has issues with some standard android apps that have widgets, especially after a reboot. What I have to do is 'long-press' the area where the 'hidden' (now phantom) widget resides and it highlights it allowing me to drag it down to the bottom of the homescreen to remove it like normal.
     
  3. GrenW

    GrenW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    130
    Same happened to me with the Weatherbug widget. I thought it had disappeared but could not replace it as nothing would fit in the 'gap'. I then removed the invisible widget and replaced it and all was well. Can't think of what may have caused it but the solution was simple enough
     
  4. confabber

    confabber Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmm.. So, atleast I am not the only one facing this problem.
    Unfortunately for me even if I "long-press" on the phantom widget area it just bring up the usual popup to select what I want to add to the screen :(

    Does anybody know if there if any way to delete a home screen without removing all icons/widgets. Because of the phantom widget I am unable to delete the home screen
     
  5. confabber

    confabber Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    suddenly today the phantom widgets decided to appear and I gladly deleted those. !!! But the mystery still remains. Hope they don't appear again.
     
  6. Poopyfist

    Poopyfist Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hate to bump an old thread but I've been having the same issues lately (also on the i5700 running the new 2.1). Have there been any new developments on this issue?
     

Share This Page

Loading...