Is 2.1 worth the agro?


Last Updated:

  1. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    I seem to spend a lot of time flashing backing up, installing back ups, i still dont havea stable 2.1 platform on my phone, can some one point me in the direction of the Modco 1.5 rom please
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
  3. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    I briefly tried 5.4 before moving back to 5.3 which is ok apart from the gps problems.
     
  4. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    I know what you mean mate :rolleyes:

    Personally, I'm glad I have rooted and tried Villain5.3. Its given me a good overview of whats available in 2.1. I can get round the GPS issues and my MMS is working, so right now, I'm living with it.

    The random lag on the keyboard however, drives me crazy. Its just not responsive like stock 1.5 is/was. Once the official 2.1 arrives from HTC, I will not hesitate to switch.

    Will I root again? The real question is, will I need to once 2.1 has been released? HTC have delayed 2.1 on the Hero because they need to optimise the sh#t out of it to run on the older hardware.

    Counting the days to the official release ... :rolleyes:
     
  5. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Im not noticing any lag, the Wifi/GPS constantly dropping is driving me mad
     
  6. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Right Ive not gps working at long last although when i go to navigation the screen remains blank with just the directions but no map.
     
  7. islandmixed

    islandmixed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rooted for the first time 2 days ago & i went right to 5.4 it was laggy & errors popping up everywhere...so i went to 5.3 which i heard was abit better & it was, but i never had any lag or pops up of anysort with the htc rom 1.5, so in honesty iam tempted to try this new slide vallian rom but i really just want this damn official update...least i know its safe & wont cause the problems ive been having.

    one thing thats irritating me is that i cant even use my own pix to save as wallpapers...well i can but it sets it huge & ugli...with my 1.5 i would use this app & it would set it perfect but not anymore...these roms change faakin everything..
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I'm on 5.3 too and I use the new gallery app to pick my wallpaper/lockscreen and everything looks fine. Using .png files if that makes a difference.
     
  9. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Can't say I've had Wifi drop off yet, GPS seems to be ok once it locks onto a signal, but can take a while sometimes. I'll stick with it till the official one comes out ( providing no other probs found) then switch. Main prob was MMS on Orange, but Jaff sorted that one out for us
     
  10. islandmixed

    islandmixed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    are your files your own pictures thoe or wallpapers downloaded like the ones provided within the rom. cause the ones that come built in work fine. but the app i used before with 1.5 it didnt matter what pic i threw at it..it set it perfect, small n crisp & fitted perfect. these roms deffo have something to do with it. cant wait to unroot and install the official rom to be honest.
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    They're images I've made my self on the pc. I took the original image and edited it to a 640x480 image. That way there's no zooming in necessary and I can see what the end result will be.
     
  12. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    The only annoyance for me is the splitting of long text messages - still waiting for a fix.
     
  13. islandmixed

    islandmixed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    the pix i used are 412x450 and the app from anroid always set it perfect. could i edit the pic & make it 640x480? and if so what software is that as i dont know of any that can do this. its a damn shame cause i had such an amazing bob marley portrait which i coloured n tinted & had a clock widget that i added. so would be nice to try & resize it again.

    cheers
     
  14. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    3.2-update-hero-modacocustomrom-core-signed.zip

    Is this the right rom?
     
  15. 02keilj

    02keilj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes that is the correct rom. It is the one i am currently running :) Very stable and little lag
     
  16. scaz

    scaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using villain 5.4 rom with three network and seems to be stable asides a few issues


    1. friend stream does not work
    2. gps is poor
    3. the villain update only lets me update 5.4.1 but I hear it upto 5.4.5
    4. and live wallpaper not working
    I gather there is patches for these and i have looked all yesterday for these on here and xda etc but with no look any ideas where i can get the prefably urls please.

    But overall I'm liking 2.1 and work the community are doing is exceptional
     
  17. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Back on 3.2 Modaco, the gps reliability was a real issue.
     
  18. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18

    Their is a Live wallpaper fix but it screws up your weather app big style.
     
  19. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is it worth the aggro of swapping to Modaco?
    Better than 5.3??

    I've never used Modaco so I don't know the comparison
     
  20. 02keilj

    02keilj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    MoDaCo 3.2 is a 1.6 based rom. Not a 2.1, it is therefore missing a few things like live wallpapers, pinch zoom on home screens (which is really kinda cool), bluetooth (if it has been implemented?) among other things. I wish there was a comparisson guide for the 2.1 roms so it would be easy for people to understand the pros and cons of each.
     
    tojjer likes this.
  21. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Modaco is 1.5 actually, because it's based on stock firmware.
     
  22. 02keilj

    02keilj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sorry, my mistake ha ha.
     
  23. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm amazed by some of these replies - I can only think that I've been exceptionally lucky. I'm on 5.3 and quite happy with it - GPS works absolutely fine.
    I've not tried MMS (I tend to email rather than MMS simply because its free!) and I'm aware of the voicemail notification issue, but other than that I can't think of any problems I've had.

    Oh, the gallery isn't fantastic, it doesn't seem to update properly, but I switched back to the normal photos app and that works fine.
     
  24. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    For anybody with poor battery life, have a look at this thread.

    Changing one simple setting seems to improve battery life quite a lot. I've had the phone running for about 16 hours and have used 18% battery :) And I've also got a better signal than I ever have with the hero the entire time I've had it.
     
  25. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Isn't that just like switching on 2G ?.
     

Share This Page

Loading...