1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Is Android Market filtered by the device you are accessing it with?


Last Updated:

  1. VandalDuck

    VandalDuck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9
    So if I am running a device which has the Android OS version 1.6, will I see different results in Android Market than if I have Android OS version 2.0.1?

    If not, wouldn't it be nice if the market would list which Android OS version apps are compatible with?

    I'm not complaining mind you, but just thought it would be a decent suggestion to the Android Market folks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Yes you will.
     
  3. fUry327

    fUry327 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Really? I've been under the impression that the market is just a jumble of shit right now. No way to filter any results other than the category function.

    I'm on the Droid and alot of apps I come across on the market say they are not compatible with droid. So if you ask me, no they do not filter the results based on what phone/os version you have. They definitely need to expand the market functions.
     
  4. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    The market is filtered by location, USA, Europe, Asia and such. Some places can't see paid apps.

    I agree that there should be more ways to "filter" the market. The "keyword" search could be a lot better.
     
  5. VandalDuck

    VandalDuck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9

    That has been my experience as well. I will read through comments prior to downloading an app to find out if there are problems between the app and the Droid. In the comments I will see: "Works great on my Eris" and "Works good on Droid" etc....or "Constant Force Stop on Droid".....

    Some developers do a nice job in their application description to state if they are compatible with different versions of the OS, but I think it needs to be a searchable/filterable option in the marketplace.
     
  6. les017

    les017 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get the distinct impression that there is SOME filtering, either based on device, OS rev or HTC Sense UI....or something.

    Couple of apps I have had on my Droid do NO show up when searching market on wife's Eris.

    But I don't know, just an observation
     
  7. jkhouw1

    jkhouw1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Aside from geographic filtering, I believe the other filter that is applied is what the minimum platform is (ie ROM version) you are running.

    when you build an app, you specify what the minimum plaform/API you are building for is and its supposed to be forward compatible but not backward compatible.

    That said, there will of course be apps that are visible to you but not compatible with your device if the developer built the app not only with a minimum platform but also utilizing specific hardware functions. Assuming you meet the software version, you will probably see them, but they won't work on your device.

    the geographic thing is a little more confusing to me- i just built a free word scramble game (andJUMBLE!) and published it and was told by someone in England they can't find it. :mad: Yet i can find it on both my VZW and ATT phones just by searching for Jumble.
     

Share This Page

Loading...