Is anyone else's Google Maps Location WAY off?


Last Updated:

  1. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    I live by an Interstate freeway (I-275) ... but obviously when I am sitting in my home I am not physically on the interstate. I am in my dining room right now, and Google Maps shows my location to be on I-275, which is probably about 1/4 a mile away from me. Does anyone else have this type of problem with Google Maps? I can't find a way to refresh my location and try to get it to be somewhere actually near me. I understand it is going to be off, but when I want to "drive to" somewhere, its throws the whole route off, because it shows me being on the freeway and not off of the road that my house sits on.
     

    Advertisement
  2. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sounds like your Hero is using a cell site to locate itself, as opposed to using GPS. Make sure you have all your location features "checked ON" including GPS. Hopefully you have a GPS status app installed too so you can tell when your GPS is truly providing position information as well.

    Good Luck!!!! ;)
     
  3. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    ahaha! Stupid me. I for some reason had GPS off, and in the process of wondering why Google Maps wasn't working, I never check that simple setting.

    Thanks!

    Also, for location, should all three be checked? I heard on of them should be "unchecked" to save battery. Just a small side question, if you don't mind :D
     
  4. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    Wireless location should be unchecked if you are worried about battery life. However, anything that needs location information won't work without your GPS on then.
     
  5. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well, it varies as to what needs to be on, versus what application you are running but in general, I find myself turning the location features on to do some activity, then turning them off to save battery life. GPS especially involves a lot of processing and takes noticable power. Just turn off what you can when you are not using them, and you should be fine.

    Cheers --- :)
     
  6. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    Thanks fellas!
     
  7. tripwire's_hero

    tripwire's_hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can't tell you how disappointed I am in the GPS in this phone...:(

    I'm coming from a 3 year old samsung slider (mysto) with googlemaps and GPS that was always on, and it was accurate to the half meter. I used it often for geocaching and it was always accurate.

    My hero is pathetic in comparison. Even with GPS enabled, it's never more accurate than 10-20 meters, and it sucks battery life like a V8 uses gas. Oh well. small trade to make, considering all it does...
     
  8. awesomecomb

    awesomecomb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thats one of the big trade off of smart phones. The battery is going to be crap compared to a dumb phone. Now the accuracy of your gps baffles me, my hero is spot on.
     
  9. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    My Hero's GPS is always very close...just a meter or so away. Hell, that's one of the things that it's been praised for in comparison to phones such as the Moment.
     
  10. BigJayTX

    BigJayTX Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occasionally, my GPS will be about 200 miles off until I power cycle the phone. It doesn't happen often, but it can be irritating. I live in Austin, TX and from time to time my phone will think I'm northwest of Ft. Worth.
     
  11. dominicanyor

    dominicanyor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3

    Is there another type of battery that has more power and that will last longer for the phones?
     
  12. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6

    I had this same exact problem...I am off I35 in Texas and anytime I load up Google Maps my location is off by about a mile and within 5 minutes it pops to the correct location. My GPS is always running. I wonder if there is a bug with it. It seems like it tries to use cell towers for triangulating the location before it realizes GPS is on. Its a nuisance.
     
  13. hempwallace

    hempwallace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    6

    Maybe you're been abducted by aliens and you really are NW of Fort Worth. I heard that's where they probe places that your really don't want probed. :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...