Is anyone with leak v2 having trouble getting a GPS lock ?General


Last Updated:

  1. ColonelPanic

    ColonelPanic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have been having this issue since Monday. If it locks it takes upwards of 15 minutes and then if i switch to Nav it retries and often fails.
     

    Advertisement
  2. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    The only time I have had an issue was when I was trying to show off mobile defense to someone the other day and it wouldn't lock at all. I was in a great big concrete and steel building though.
     
  3. tree_noob

    tree_noob Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had problems lately too with it taking forever to locate and sometimes completely way off..... Saying im in South Carolina when I'm in Florida lawl....
     
  4. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    68
    Mine would not get a lock no matter what I did Tuesday night. (I'm on leak v1). And I was actually lost and really needed it. :(

    Worked fine yesterday around town when I knew exactly where I was.
     
  5. ColonelPanic

    ColonelPanic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    22
    This may be nothing. I had not done a programming update to my phone in a bit (*228 opt 2). I was fairly certain that this would not affect the GPS chip. Upon further reflection it occurred to me that it it may indeed impact aGPS as it uses cell tower triangulation + a database of sat coordinates to get a fast lock. Standalone GPS receivers take much longer to initialize because they often lack this.

    I update and after a restart I get a sub 2 minute lock in a moving vehicle. It has been consistent since then. This however is not a good test. If anyone else is having issue give that a try and let us know if helped.
     
  6. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    I was having the same problem with Mobile Defense, so I went snooping around on their website. It seems their last update (which I THINK was in late Dec) wouldn't install over an existing version correctly. Their website stated that if you were having connection problems that you should uninstall and reinstall the app. I did that and it once again was able to connect to my phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...