Is apps2sd working?


Last Updated:

  1. Yeah_Mick

    Yeah_Mick Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    just installed navigon and its taken my internal memory down to 130mb from about 140mb. is there anyway i can check if apps 2 sd is working?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Yeah_Mick

    Yeah_Mick Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    linda manager is showing my applications as "35m / 165m"

    can i take it that apps2sd is not working for me?
     
  3. Yeah_Mick

    Yeah_Mick Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    just cleared the cache in facebook and the browser and thats saved me about 7mb. but i still dont understand if apps2sd is working?
     
  4. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    Hi Mick,

    What's reported in Linda manager is not an indication of whether APPS2SD is working or not as the dalvik-cache is most likely still on the phone memory as it defeats the object of caching if it's moved to the SD card.

    How many apps do you have installed? I have around 200 (Including Navigon) and Linda Manager reports I have used 146 of 165 M (88%) and my APPS2SD is certainly working. You can check this by mounting the EXT2/3/4 partition on a Linux box and check the contents.

    Given that you've only used 35 M, unless you have very few apps installed, I'd say it's working.
     
  5. Yeah_Mick

    Yeah_Mick Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i do only have very few apps installed, one being navigon though.

    can you explain this linux box thing a bit more? so i can check.
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I think he might mean a linux computer? Windows can't read those Ext partitions you see.

    This helped me figure out if apps2sd was working (I was in the halfway situation like bluenova described).

    Apps2SD - VillainROM Wiki

    The bit I'm referring to is right near the top.
     
  7. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    I'm assuming you have partitioned the SD card with the correct Ext partitions?
     
  8. Yeah_Mick

    Yeah_Mick Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i partition my standard 2gb card, i had 0mb swap, then 512 on the next option and the rest as fat32, then i changed the ext2 to ext3. is that all good?

    also whats this dalvik you talk of?

    sorry for all the questions im just trying to learn whats going on here.
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I'm honestly not 100% sure. But the important bit to know is that an app on your phone takes up memory in two ways: the app it's self as an .apk file, and also data stored in the dalvik-cache.

    That's how you can have apps2sd enabled but still have a significant amount of memory used up, as only the .apk is being saved to the SD card.
     
  10. Yeah_Mick

    Yeah_Mick Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    using the script as posted in the link above, its come back saying apps2sd is working without dalvik cache. what is this dalvik cache?
     
  11. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    The dalvik-cache holds pre-compiled .dex files. Multiple .dex files are zipped into a single .apk package. In simple terms it makes the apps run faster. There are a lot of discussions around on the net about having the dalvik-cache on the SD card which is perfectly possible but the general consensus is it's better to keep it in the phone memory.

    I wouldn't worry about it taking up your phone memory, as I said I've got around 200 apps installed with space to spare, so all is good.

    I haven't run that script but I assume by 'without dalvik-cache' it means it's left it on the phone memory rather than moving it to the SD card.
     
  12. Yeah_Mick

    Yeah_Mick Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the help chaps. :)
     
  13. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    That's right :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...