Is Droid my ultimate convergence device?

Last Updated:

1. bprutzman

bprutzman Member This Topic's Starter

Hi folks! I'm a complete newbie about this forum, the Android OS, and the Droid device. However, I lurked on this forum and searched around the topics for a couple days before finally posting. I know how annoying it can be for a completely ignorant newbie to start asking before making any attempt on his own. I've made some attempt!

Here's my newbie question. I've been shopping for years for a convergence device -- something that does it all fairly well. To date I haven't found one. I currently use my Garmin nuvi 880 GPS (GPS and Handsfree bluetooth wired into the AUX jack of my car), my Blackberry Curve 8330 (verizon), and my IPod Touch -- all of which I use heavily and with nearly all of their capabilities. I'm considering replacing ALL of them with a Droid. :) From what I've read about the Droid on this forum this should indeed be possible!

Of course it was (in theory) possible before on my Blackberry as well, I suppose. However the BB's screen, media handling, and horrible GPS (only accessible thru VZNavigator) just made having all three devices still the best way to go.

As avid Droid users, do you think I'll finally be able to converge to just one device when I buy a Droid? I've waited for so many years, tell me I'm finally just going to carry one device!? One thing of particular interest to me is whether or not I will be able to plug the Droid into my Aux jack of my car and hear navigation and music through my stereo as I currently can from my Garmin.

Thanks for your time!
    Brad.

Advertisement
  2. vincentp

vincentp Well-Known Member

You have to try it out and see for yourself. For me, yes, it is my everything device. I use it for media, I use it for GPS, and of course I use it as a phone.