Is EVO 4G an International phone??


Last Updated:

  1. ndfan4u

    ndfan4u Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    10
    Has anyone taken this phone out of the country as of launch day?? I heard rumors that the EVO does not have GMS capability and therefore does not work out of the country?? I am going on vacation over the 4th of July week to Puerto Vallarta Mexico. Please don't let this be true.
     

    Advertisement
  2. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    Unless Puerto Rico has cdma towers, I'm sorry to disappoint you but no...cdma is limited to the US Canada and a few other countries
     
  3. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    22
    what does puerto rico have to do with mexico?

    the op said he is going to mexico not puerto rico
    and no the evo wont work in mexico its not a world phone
     
  4. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    I guess I was reading too fast lol
     
  5. Slacker4Life

    Slacker4Life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    96
    Sorry to say, the Evo will not work out for you when you're having a blast in Puerto Vallarta. The Evo IS NOT a World Phone, unfortunately. This is one of the few advantages my previous Touch Pro 2 had over the Evo.
     
    ndfan4u likes this.
  6. herzzreh

    herzzreh Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good chunk of Asia and South America as well... What did I do? I just ordered a SIM card from Sprint that I can stick into my GSM phone with very similar features to the Evo when needed. Total cost? $15 for the card and change for shipping.
     
  7. Karl14

    Karl14 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
  8. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
  9. justinholt123

    justinholt123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    23
    international roaming gets expensive
     
  10. jmcging

    jmcging Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just a side question - will the device work outside the US from wifi? My daughter went to Europe with a iPod Touch using just wife; was able to skype and email etc.

    So the thought occurs to me that similar capabilities may be possible using wifi and while it may not be a perfect substitute for a working phone, it certainly seems doable.

    So can the EVO work in a wifi only mode?
     
  11. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    Yeah your phone will use WiFi anywhere when available
     
  12. dlocks

    dlocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    18
    Your best bet is to call sprint and ask. I'm going to Jamaica and was told my phone is usable there and I even asked them to block messages until I return and they suggested that I turn off data roaming as it can get expensive. I plan on using just the phone and use wifi for everything else.
     

Share This Page

Loading...