Is Gold Card a MUST for apps2sd?


Last Updated:

  1. Willie Heckerslyke

    Willie Heckerslyke Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    3
    So I've rooted my Desire at last and have now got FW version 2.1-update 1 with software v 1.15.405.4 installed. Sorry in advance for the nooby Q's but the apps2sd is getting me all confused here a bit.

    I've also bought the premium version of ROM Manager, it has the facilty to look for the most popular roms for your particular android phone. I picked out (randomly really) the Shadowfrost 0.5 rom and it's currently (slowly) downloading!

    I've got a 16gb sandisk SD card that I have just copied everything over onto my PC. There's also a function in rom manager to partition the SD card that I might use too.

    If it allocates a 512mb Ext3 partition and the rest as fat32 for my pics music etc....will that be it?

    Or must you go through the whole process of making the 16gb card into a Gold Card to get apps2sd to work :confused::confused:

    Thanks if you can help me out on this....
     

    Advertisement
  2. potter1984

    potter1984 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello their,

    If you used a goldcard to root then you WILL need to use a goldcard to bypass the sig checks.

    just use or buy a 1gb card and keep it as your goldcard, then you can just swap it when needed :p

    hope that helps
     
  3. Willie Heckerslyke

    Willie Heckerslyke Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the reply...

    I didn't need to use a goldcard to root the phone. It was an unlocked/unbranded handset from CPW so I just followed this guide as my bootloader was 0.8 and I was on the 2.1 FW.

    I've got the 'super user' icon in my all progs menu so it's rooted ok...I'm just unsure about the final steps I need to take for apps2sd. I've read that many different tutorials today, my heads bangin' :rolleyes: I'm still no clearer about what to do next though....I think I've read somewhere earlier that if it's rooted that I just need to partition the sd card but I can't find any ref to apps2sd on my phone...
     
  4. potter1984

    potter1984 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yea all you need to do is go into ROM manager, go to partition sdcard, choose the options; ie swap = 0 (not needed), ext2 = 512, fat = rest of space. then it will reboot and partition it for you.

    Hope that sorts you out :p
     
  5. Willie Heckerslyke

    Willie Heckerslyke Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi. Thanks for your help....did as you suggested in ROM Manager, rebooted...held my breath as it seemed to have 'frozen' at the 'HTC quietly brilliant' stage of the reboot.....stuck at that point for 3/4 mins, but then eventually carried on ok (phew!)

    I found a thread that told you how to query if a2sd was working and typed in what it said. I ended up with the follwing....

    drwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 2048 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;34mDxDrm←[0m
    drwxrwx--x 1 1000 1000 2048 Jun 21 13:48 ←[1;34manr←[0m
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 14 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;36mapp←[0m -> ←[1;3
    4m/system/sd/app←[0m
    drwxrwx--x 1 1000 1000 2048 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;34mapp-cache←[0m
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 22 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;36mapp-private←[0m
    -> ←[1;34m/system/sd/app-private←[0m
    drwx------ 1 1000 1000 2048 Jun 21 13:50 ←[1;34mbackup←[0m
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 23 Jun 21 15:10 ←[1;36mdalvik-cache←[0m
    -> ←[1;34m/system/sd/dalvik-cache←[0m
    drwxrwx--x 1 1000 1000 2048 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;34mdata←[0m
    drwxr-x--- 1 0 1007 2048 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;34mdontpanic←[0m
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 11 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;36mdrm←[0m -> ←[1;3
    4m/data/local←[0m
    drwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 2048 Aug 1 2008 ←[1;34mdropbear←[0m
    drwxr-xr-x 1 2000 2000 2048 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;34mlocal←[0m
    drwxrwx--- 1 0 0 2048 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;34mlost+found←[0m
    drwxrwx--t 1 1000 9998 2048 Jun 21 15:32 ←[1;34mmisc←[0m
    drwx------ 1 0 0 2048 Jun 21 15:13 ←[1;34mproperty←[0m
    -rw-rw-rw- 1 1013 1000 2 Jun 21 15:35 ←[0;0mpvcodec.txt←[0m
    -rw-rw-rw- 1 0 0 104 Jun 21 15:08 ←[0;0mreboot.chk←[0m
    drwxrwxr-x 1 1000 1000 2048 Jun 21 15:35 ←[1;34msystem←[0m
    drwxrwxrwx 1 1018 1018 2048 Jun 21 13:47 ←[1;34mwimax←[0m
    drwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 2048 Aug 1 2008 ←[1;34mxbin←[0m
    #

    Can someone confirm for me that the bolded parts mean that apps2sd is now working, coz I've read so much stuff on this over the last couple of days, I can't remember for sure, but seem to remember somewhere saying that if you see /sd/ in the results, it means it's working ok!

    Many thanks
     
  6. potter1984

    potter1984 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    You are correct sir, It is indeed working as advertised :p
     
  7. Willie Heckerslyke

    Willie Heckerslyke Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks a lot potter ;)

    I've re-installed about 30+ apps via my Astro backup, and my internal memory showing as only gone down by 9 or 10meg.....great stuff.

    Cheers
     
  8. potter1984

    potter1984 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yea sounds about right i on average have 100MB free at all times, but with 30+ apps what can i expect :)

    Glad its all working for you, now the fun begins :)
     
  9. zoidy84

    zoidy84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    9
    yeah just to give a second thumbs up, i have got the exact same ADB Shell read out as you and am rooted so you're good to go!
     

Share This Page

Loading...