Is GPS Free ??


Last Updated:

  1. kanay2000

    kanay2000 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I was just wondering, that is using the GPS function on your phone free or would it charge you?

    Many Thanks :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. DMXXX

    DMXXX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    It is free.
     
  3. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    Just to clarify...

    GPS is free for positioning, BUT using google maps navigation will cost you in data as it has to download the map data.
    Other dedicated GPS apps e.g. CoPilot store the maps on sd card so there are no ongoing data costs.
     
    kanay2000 likes this.
  4. kredda

    kredda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3

    well said !
     
  5. kanay2000

    kanay2000 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would it charge me , if i used google navigation, but downloaded the data at home using wifi?
     
  6. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    I think you can precache your route over wifi to minimise data usage but if you go off route at any point it will start downloading map data.
     
  7. DMXXX

    DMXXX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    I guess I should have been clearer in my first post. Anyway just to warn you that Google Maps uses a lot of data: I used it to browse about a 5 square kilometre area and it DL-d about 2 MB worth of data. Without a data plan you can have some nasty bills that way.
     
  8. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72
    I dont doubt you, but just for clarity, as that sounds like a lot of data for 5sq km--at what level of browsing were you? maximum zoom? with satellite view? did you have traffic overlays? or, any other layers?
     
  9. DMXXX

    DMXXX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was using the default settings whatever they are. I was just messing around to see how it works. I did zoom a lot though.
     
  10. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    Theres where your high usage came from. Every time you zoom it has to download the map data for that zoom level and it gets more detailed the closer you zoom.

    FYI I decided to test Navigation on the way home the other night after the recent update. With no precaching a ~12 mile journey with a couple of detours to test rerouting that took 30 mins used about 8MB of data at the default zoom apart from a couple of mins while I was stuck in traffic so had a play.
     
  11. PARAD0X

    PARAD0X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    11
    I hope they fix it so that it stores all the mapping data on the sdcard.
     
  12. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    It's never going to happen. Google = Cloud computing.

    Call me Mr Suspicious but i would be surprised if we did not see location based advertising on Nav before much longer. Google haven't gone to all that effort for no return.
     
  13. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    There is a java based free solution that you can store all maps from nearly everywhere in the world on your sd card.
    As the Desire is according to specs java capable, i can't see any reason it won't work.

    WeTravel
     

Share This Page

Loading...