• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Is it possible? (Gingerbread on HTC desire)

webb415

Lurker
Mar 9, 2011
Ok I am using Froyo on my HTC desire, Which every one knows is very slow, I mean it lags in menu and during browsing. And I saw these video on youtube, Guys have installed Gingerbread on HTC desire and way too fast :D
So I am also thinking of upgrading it. I know its not out yet but many people are already using it. Is it really possible. Are there any drawbacks?

Is this legit?

Install Android 2.3.3 Gingerbread On HTC Desire [Guide]

Regards,

Wow, Its great News.

So the link I have posted, is it fine to follow their instructions? And are you guys having any bugs or problem with gingerbread?

@ SUroot

Which link? I can't happen to find the guide to install gingerbread. I really sorry for this noob question but I am new to this. I only know that my brother rooted my HTC desire a month ago. So can you be more specific? :eek:

Upvote 0
Wow, Its great News.

So the link I have posted, is it fine to follow their instructions? And are you guys having any bugs or problem with gingerbread?

@ SUroot

Which link? I can't happen to find the guide to install gingerbread. I really sorry for this noob question but I am new to this. I only know that my brother rooted my HTC desire a month ago. So can you be more specific? :eek:

The one that says Gingervillain

Reactions: webb415
Upvote 0
You always need to take a backup before flashing a new ROM just in case. For me, it is best to wipe the data and delvik cache, but not everyone does this nor needs to. It works best for me if I do.

I think you will find most people who have used GingerVillain don't look back and if you do get into any diffs there are plenty of folk to help you out.

Reactions: webb415
Upvote 0
If your phone is already rooted then all you need to do is flash a gingerbread rom.