1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Is it possible to accidently tether an lg eve?


Last Updated:

  1. patilj

    patilj Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I never made any effort to tether my lg eve. I do not even know how to do it. My question is this: is it possible to accidently tether the lg eve to a desktop pc, when trying to connect via USB cable. For example, I connect my lg eve to a desktop pc, and tried to transfer some jpgs off it. In doing so, by connect the cable, could I accidently tether the PC to this?

    I think the answer would be no. :) I never tried setting up tethering before, but am only asking because I am traveling out of country and did not want to risk this PC using my LG EVE as a modem by accident.

    I thought I read somewhere that LG EVE does not support tethering, but also think I read some conflicting details elsewhere, saying it was possible.

    Any how, trying to avoid more nasty roaming charges. I doubt this will be an issue for me, but figured I'd ask.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    37
    Hi there!

    1) The phone when plugged into a PC does not automatically tether. 2) it is indeed possible using 3rd party apps from the Android market such as PDAnet etc. but I beleive none of these do it automatically even if installed on the phone (does not come pre-installed on handset).

    Hope this helps and enjoy your trip!

    Carl :)
     
  3. patilj

    patilj Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    That helps a lot, even to enjoy the vacation. Went a little overboard with my roaming, and then I scared myself good reading some horror stories about similar situations. Tethering really would have caused a lot of trouble. :)

     
    Carl C likes this.
  4. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    37
    and download "APNdroid" to disable your internet (1 click enable/disable) totally otherwise you can come home to a shocking bill :eek:
     
  5. patilj

    patilj Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Agreed! I did the next best thing - removed the battery altogether and gave it to my wife. I did not need to bring this thing on the trip :)

     
  6. Jay-Eff

    Jay-Eff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    17
    Watch dog is so much better for this.
    You still need APN droid but with Watchdog you can set it up to automatically shut down your data when you reach a certain limit of your data plan.

    When your data plan reset it will again automatically re-enable your data.
    Plus there is a widget that give you your data usage.
    http://www.androlib.com/android.application.net-rgruet-android-g3watchdog-zzA.aspx
     

Share This Page

Loading...