1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Is it possible to root from 2.2 or do I have to reset to 2.1?


Last Updated:

  1. Zebulon

    Zebulon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    60
    I have been trying to get my Mez rooted for a while now, with no luck whatsoever. I did a bit of researching, and it seems that the version of Froyo that we have is actually 2.2.1, which is incompatible with Z4Root and Super One Click.

    Are there any simple ways of rooting 2.2.1, or am I stuck with doing a factory reset and rooting from 2.1?

    If I DO reset to 2.1 and root, can I update to Froyo via Kies Mini again?
     

    Advertisement
  2. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286
    Likes Received:
    254
    You can root 2.2.1 with SuperOne click. z4Root has not been supported for several months (maybe even a year or longer?) so I would not recommend using it.

    I used Super One Click, v 1.9.1. It rooted on the first try.
     
    Country_Gravy likes this.
  3. Zebulon

    Zebulon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    60
    Huh... I have had a bear of a time with S1C. I made sure that I had the Microsoft .net 2.0 installed on my computer, and I did everything else the way they tell you to, but it keeps getting stuck on the "Waiting for device" step.
     
  4. Country_Gravy

    Country_Gravy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Flash Heinz 57 ROM...It's already rooted.
     
  5. bigcva82

    bigcva82 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to superoneclick on my showcase whitch is the same as the mesmerize had to turn debuging off thin when it said waiting for device turn it on it worked just fine for me had if you didn't get instruction on turning your debugging on and off go to the step by step root rom for showcase and click the link that's were I got mine
     
  6. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286
    Likes Received:
    254
    I'm always impressed by the run on sentence. This one is a keeper. A run on and it makes no sense, either. Double score!
     
    Country_Gravy likes this.
  7. eromrab

    eromrab New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It made sense to me... it just doesn't work. You can't turn on debug mode while already plugged into USB...
     

Share This Page

Loading...