Is it possible to switch from Clockwork to Amon Recovery?


Last Updated:

  1. slosvt

    slosvt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    The title says it all. :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
  3. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    ROM Manager swaps them out in one click without having to reboot your phone.
     
  4. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    +1 only downside is that ROM does not have the updated RA.
     
  5. HTC EVO

    HTC EVO Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    IM fairly new to the HTC rooting game but what is the difference between Clockwork and Amon Recovery?
     
  6. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Clockworkmod is not wiping correctly,don't know if the issue has been fixed and I like more RA UI.
     
  7. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    I got RA 1.8.0 from rom manager
     
  8. t0ast3d

    t0ast3d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    75
    Nothing really.

    Just the UI for the most part.

    Clockwork wipes just fine for me.
     
  9. I Like Soup

    I Like Soup Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I go to use ROM Manager, it says I must have Clockworkmod. I already have RA and have had none of the issues that others have mentioned. Of course, I'd like to use ROM Manager, so is Clockworkmod a requirement then? Is it possible to have two recovery types on our EVO's?
     
  10. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Just flash clockwork with ROM manager when you want to use its functions. When done, flash amon back.

    And in terms of having 2 recoveries at once, I came up with something:

    Flash the recovery that you prefer. Call this one your permanent recovery image. Now, download a .zip file for the other recovery image and keep it on your SD card.

    When you boot into recovery, it will load your permanent one. But if you use the recovery to flash the zip from SD card, you will instantly get the other recovery. Now you have access to the other recovery's features/nandroids. But when you reboot, it automatically reverts back to your permanent one, because the change never has a chance to commit.

    I had to do this when I boot looped my phone, and my recovery image was RA instead of clockwork. I needed to restore a nandroid made with clockwork, but RA can't read the clockwork images. So I temp-flashed clockwork, restored my nandroid backup, and I was back running. And RA was still my recovery image.
     
  11. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    RM will let u flash RA as an alternate recovery but the features in RM only work with Clockworkmod.
     
    I Like Soup likes this.
  12. spurswin99

    spurswin99 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've followed the instructions here -- used Rom Manager to get Amon Ra recovery, and then selected the Amon Ra recovery from Rom Manager. But when I try to reboot into recovery, it always takes me into Clockwork. This is the case both when I try it manually (pressing volume up while booting up) and when I use Rom Manager to reboot into recovery. Any ideas?
     
  13. spurswin99

    spurswin99 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any thoughts on this, as to what I might be doing wrong? I just can't seem to be able to boot into Amon Ra -- keeps taking me to Clockwork regardless of how I try it.
     
  14. Gadget Man 007

    Gadget Man 007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the EXACT same boat. Do we have to remove Clockwork somehow before flashing Amon RA?

    Any help is much appreciated (trying to backup my 4G keys).

    EDIT: Nevermind. Just went ahead and manually installed Amon RA.
     
  15. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    I was bored and updated my bootloader and was unable to flash ra recovery every which way i could and found these directions over on xda, and it flashed perfectly: Post 658

    I had a similar issue. gave up on fastbobt and adb shell.
    What I did was install "root explorer" from android market
    Then connect my phone to pc in hard disk mode and transfer "flash_image" from my sdk tools folder to my sdcard.
    Then use root explorer to move "flash_image" from the sdcard to the system/bin folder.
    Then get "Terminal Emulator" from the android market and run it.
    Enter in the following comands:
    su [hit enter] {allow for super user access}
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img (or what ever file name you have) [hit enter]

    It should then go back to# and type: reboot recovery (if it won't reboot, just manually shutdown and boot into recovery)

    it should show the latest 1.8.0 version.
     
  16. WaynesNside

    WaynesNside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's pretty crazy. I was messing around today and was able t go back between the two of them in recovery just fine.

    One thing I didn't know that RA can't read a backup done with clockwork. Good info t know. I haven't had ant issues wiping with Clockwork at all so far.
     
  17. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    Try having both recovery images present in the root of your SD card when you swap, then reboot.
     
  18. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    110
    I always make a backup with clockwork and with RA.
    I use RA to do all of my wiping/flashing..
    Its so easy with ROM manager to switch between the two, so im just playing it safe.
    I had a nandroid image fail on me one time so i had to start all over. So i just use them both.
     
  19. thekarens

    thekarens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    32
    I also use both. I like Ra for wiping.
     

Share This Page

Loading...