Is it possible to USB mount an Android Desire on a G5 Power PC running Tiger 10.4.11 ?Support


Last Updated:

  1. jeffjeffaree

    jeffjeffaree Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help.

    Years ago, probably way before your time, there was a state of the art computer called a G5. It was so powerful there would never again be the need to upgrade. The OS and software were cutting edge and all who saw were gob smacked. So, the G5 having been discontinued 4 years and 10 days ago, and Tiger under 3 years ago, things are different.

    I can't connect my phone to my computer through usb or bluetooth.

    Is it faulty hardware on my end or are they known to be incompatible?

    Thanks again for any help..
     

    Advertisement
  2. Hippotech

    Hippotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just a thought but is the phone in charge mode only or has it been set to mount the disk ?
     
  3. jeffjeffaree

    jeffjeffaree Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any thoughts and suggestions are great right now. Thanks.

    But 'Charge Only' is the one thing I haven't tried.

    Just to verify, is the mode access you're referring too?
    Settings>Connect to PC>DefaultConnectionType

    Also, it was directly into the USB ports (not a hub)...
     
  4. Hippotech

    Hippotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    11
    You'll need it set to 'Disk drive'. Is there another machine you can try it on ?

    Works OK with my Mac but it's one of the early Intel boxes.
     
  5. jaseuk

    jaseuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    42
    I'm running a Powerbook G4 on Mac OSX 10.4.11 and it connects fine - just have to choose connect as disk drive on my phone.
     
  6. jeffjeffaree

    jeffjeffaree Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it works on your set up I should be getting some Desire love...
    I'm pretty sure I've tried what you're suggesting. Maybe I'm missing something. ???

    Thanks
     
  7. jeffjeffaree

    jeffjeffaree Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just thought i'd plug the desire in again and it worked. I did the same thing. Not sure why it didn't work so many times before but hopefully it'll work from now on.

    Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...