is it safe to run android 2.2 on the (sprint) htc hero with google


Last Updated:

  1. natorade93

    natorade93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    15
    iv heard ppl who downloaded android 2.2 online and installed it themselves on there phone since its not being offered ota. but im wondering if its safe? the phone is not actually getting 2.2 ever, so doing this would be my own choice. but im wondering if it will run smoothly, better than 2.1 update 1, and if there will be any problems or if anything that may not work because of compatability problems with the phone. because some people have said that 2.2 isnt being released to the hero because the phone is not physically capeable of it do to software and hardware (such as space ram speeds etc.), and others have said they installed it themselves and it works fine, that its actually made to run using less space then 2.1 making it better. any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    My friend recently rooted his Sprint HTC Hero and installed CyanogenMod 6 on it. He reports that it is a lot faster than the stock Android 2.1 with Sense UI was.

    I actually messed around with his handset last weekend and it was, indeed, a lot faster and snappier to interact with. I am actually considering rooting my own Sprint HTC Hero and putting Android 2.2 on it as well because of this.
     
  3. Linoleum

    Linoleum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    9
    My rooted sprint hero running 2.2 CM6 is faster than stock 2.1. That may very well be a product of rooting, as I've dumped all the sprint bloatware, overclocked a bit, and turned on the JIT. It feels like a whole new phone!

    I have not tried live wallpapers yet....... ... .
     
  4. natorade93

    natorade93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    15
    any good suggestions on rooting? i havent yet looked into this... how is it done? any good instructions? what are the risks of rooting, and is illegal? or is it aloud by both sprint and android... im not completely farmilliar with doing this thats why i ask
     
  5. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    My first suggestion would be to take a stroll into the dedicated Sprint HTC Hero rooting sub-forum here: Sprint Hero - All Things Root - Android Forums .

    Rooting your Sprint HTC Hero is not likely to harm it unless you were to accidentally flash the wrong image to it. Like, for example, if you flashed something designed for the GSM HTC Hero instead of the CDMA Sprint HTC Hero, you would most likely ruin your handset. As far as I know, rooting your Sprint HTC Hero is not illegal at all. Again, I would go check out the Sprint HTC Hero rooting sub-forum and start researching. That is what I am currently doing before I finally root mine. I always like to know all the ins and outs of a process before proceeding.
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    It is FULLY LEGAL to root your phone but Sprint doesn't like it and can void your warranty as a result.

    Check the link above and start reading. Do lots and lots of reading.
     
  7. dougleppard

    dougleppard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Rooting is not all that easy unless you are more of a tech wizard. I am technical but lost some of my edge and needed my son to help me root. I did it under 1.5.

    Eventually I unrooted the phone and tried to stay as close to stock. It may be worth it just for the experience if you do it with backups you can get back to stock again.

    Bottom line is the hero just doesn't have the power to do android. I am switching as soon as I can.
     
  8. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Er, I beg to differ. I am running stock Android 2.1 with Sense and I have been really happy with it so far. I know lots of people have had issues with lag and so forth after the Android 2.1 update, but I have only experienced a few minor quirks that have worked themselves out over time. :)

    From my research, I have found that rooted a Sprint HTC Hero with a ROM like CyanogenMod 6 with Android 2.2 is even faster. This is especially true with the JIT compiler enabled. Not to mention, overclocking of the CPU yields even snappier performance. The Sprint HTC Hero handles Android just fine, in my opinion. I am not calling you out or saying you are flat out wrong because everyone is entitled to an opinion. I just do not agree with it. ;)
     
  9. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    I'm gonna have to disagree. Rooting IS easy, if you read, research, and FOLLOW DIRECTIONS! That being said, the hero has a lot of potential when rooted, and if you flash a custom rom, like the Froyo port, you can optimize the slow (but proven) processor that the hero has. I agree that it isn't the fastest, but it is good enough (especially considering it is a PHONE, and not a pc.) It won't keep up with the new snapdragon or hummingbird processors, but at this point it is ancient technology in the cell phone world. Whatever you choose, good luck to you, and if you need help, or questions answered, just post 'em up. There are plenty of very helpful folks on here all the time if you should need them.
     
  10. deedub

    deedub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    20
    The new one button root for the Hero is very, very easy to do. I know because I just did it. Once I rooted, I backed up my 2.1 ROM to the SD card with ROM Manager, available free from the Market.

    Once I did that, I wiped the phone and installed Cyanogen 6. It was the best move I ever did. The phone is so much faster, with no lag in typing texts or in the phone operation. The CM 6 launcher works just fine, and I don't miss Sense at all. IMO, it just bogged the phone down. I don't miss all of the Sprint bloatware either.
     
  11. Linoleum

    Linoleum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    9
    +1 VERY easy. Its a one button push now. I'm pissed I waited so long.
     
  12. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Which one button method are you using? The Universal 1-Click Rooting method from XDA-developers? I have been curious about that one. I have been researching that an the UnrEVOked method for a couple days now.

    I just want to make sure that the Universal 1-Click Rooting method does a full NAND root of my Sprint HTC Hero so that I COULD potentially flash a new recovery image down the road again. UnrEVOked only unlocks your NAND long enough to flash one recovery image and then its locked again. Did you guys have to mess with HBOOT versions with this one button method? Did it give you the Superuser app with it?
     
  13. Linoleum

    Linoleum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yep, used the Universal 1 click from XDA. Once rooted, I downloaded ROM Manager from the Market per other's suggestions and that helped me the rest of the way. I booted to recovery, using ROM Manager, and performed a nandroid backup. I then wiped and flashed the new ROM, using ROM Manager. I do not think the Universal 1 click messes with the bootloader, but I'm not sure on that. Yes there is now a Superuser app in the menu, though I haven't touched it.

    To be clear, the one click gets you root permissions. The nandroid back up is done once you boot to recovery and choose that option.

    R.
     
  14. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    7
    I rooted with 1 click root and used ROM manager. I am running Fresh 2.4. The cool thing is I did it all from the phone. I never once hooked the phone to a PC it was fairly simple and has made my phone much better.
    It did take awhile to download the fresh Rom as its like 125 megs but totally worth it.
    I see a lot of people who make it way too complicated to root the hero. It's actually pretty easy just do your research.
     
  15. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    7
  16. dougleppard

    dougleppard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Look at the forums, there are lots of frustrated hero owners. Our family has four heroes; all of us are experiencing the lag. My friends that have heroes also are experiencing the lag.

    I love my hero but often I press an option like calling and it sites there for a long time.

    I am glad yours is going well I know for some it is working. But for me next Oct (one year of purchase) I am switching to something else.

    Doug
     
  17. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Yeah, I know there are lots of people frustrated with the Android 2.1 update for the Sprint HTC Hero. I even mentioned that in my last post. ;)

    Honestly, in your situation I would probably try rooting and flashing a new ROM on your handset. I messed with my friend's CyanogenMod 6 Sprint HTC Hero again today and boy does that thing fly. :)
     
  18. norseman

    norseman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've already rooted my Hero and have been (for the most part) happy with 2.1 but would like to be able to use Flash 10.1. Will CyanogenMod 6 run Flash 10.1? Thanks
     
  19. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    norseman likes this.
  20. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    I would honestly be happy with Flash Lite on CyanogenMod 6. I am guessing that full Flash 10.1 on the Sprint HTC Hero might not be a fun experience due to the lacking hardware specifications.

    Is there any way to install Flash Lite with CyanogenMod 6? Flash Lite covered pretty much 90% - 95% of the Flash content I wanted to view on my Sprint HTC Hero anyway.
     
  21. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    You really don't want flash 10, even on the roms that manage to run it it's far from pretty, even when overclocked.
     
  22. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Yeah, that is what I figured. Just give me Flash Lite and I would be satisfied.

    Is there ever going to be a way to get Flash Lite 4.0 on Android devices? I know the Sprint HTC Hero runs Flash Lite 3.1 stock, so Flash Lite 4.0 would be a nice upgrade.
     
  23. huffman6977

    huffman6977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
  24. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081

    Have you tried a clean reinstall? Try wiping everything again, data, cache and Davlik cache and reflash
     
  25. huffman6977

    huffman6977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    i'll try that when i get home thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...