• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Is it WORTH the upgrade from Gingerbread to Jelly Bean or IcecreamSandwhich?

VikAceB

Lurker
Apr 4, 2013
Hi,

I am pretty new to the who rooting and upgrading manually to a new version of android.

I don't care about the procedure... My question is whether it is worth all the effort to upgrade my Samsung Galaxy Ace S3850 to either of the android versions using root and ROM or not?

Thanks

Depends on what you want, since the rom is not officially supported by samsung and it is said to be incompatible with this device due to the low hardware specs there are a lots of pros and cons on using android 4.0+ on this phone.

If you want a good battery life and a good performance, stick with gingerbread.
If you are bored of the monotonous user interface and the old looks of the gingerbread and want something new and cool then switch to ics/jb, you will love the UI and the features but you will get a short battery life and may get some lags.

P.S. You can get much better looks and performance on GB also if you use a custom rom, but the looks are still not as good JB roms, the entire interface makes quite a difference.

Upvote 0
Depends on what you want, since the rom is not officially supported by samsung and it is said to be incompatible with this device due to the low hardware specs there are a lots of pros and cons on using android 4.0+ on this phone.

If you are bored of the monotonous user interface and the old looks of the gingerbread and want something new and cool then switch to ics/jb, you will love the UI and the features but you will get a short battery life and may get some lags.

P.S. You can get much better looks and performance on GB also if you use a custom rom, but the looks are still not as good JB roms, the entire interface makes quite a difference.