Is our phone spying on us?Support


Last Updated:

  1. ssnacks

    ssnacks New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was looking at the running tasks on my phone an noticed "com.carrieriq.iqagent" running. It appears that this is a piece of software that sends information from the phone back to the carrier or manufacturer after doing research on the company.

    I don't recall agreeing anywhere to allow the phone to send random data. Has anyone else noticed this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. wodin

    wodin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    12
    Short answer: Yes!

    Long answer: The cloud is EVIL!
     
  3. Adrift

    Adrift Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    104
    It's the government!! break out the aluminum foil hats!
     
  4. rockcrawler

    rockcrawler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    roflmao !
     
  5. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    But the government does everything poorly, so you only need the hat if you plan on reheating your lunch.
     
  6. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    So if you turn on GPS settings is says it collects data whether you are using GPS service or not. That is what is still running probably. They want to track where the phone travels through probably to ensure they have coverage and where their phone users travel to to compare to users in a market area. I use to work for Nielsen and this is similar to something they were beginning testing on when I was still there. It allowed market research to all sorts of information. Cool stuff honestly. I am sure companies pay alot of money for the info since phones with GPS can be tracked easily instead of sending a GPS unit out to someone to carry so they can track specifially in a time period.
     
  7. Artie

    Artie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone knows how to kill the iqagent process on a Samsung Moment? Advanced Task killer and TaskManager doesn't seem to do it and TaskManager always reports it above 80% of usage.
     
  8. tphone

    tphone Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    The other thing that it does is use the data in Google Maps to get real time traffic on surface streets. (I don't know how it differentiates between driving and walking on the sidewalk)
    But you can see this in Google maps if you use the traffic layer and check major surface streets.
     
  9. Artie

    Artie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just wanted to reply that after formatting my phone (factory defaults) and carefully re-installing my apps noticed that the cuplrit on draining my battery and having iqagent process up all the time was GoogleVoice. I am happy with my phone so far, and this process is not blowing my cpu.
     
  10. immorion

    immorion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice work Artie! I have been curious about the source of iqagent and was preparing to factory reset my phone and step through app installs until I found the app responsible... But you beat me to it and saved me the down time.

    thanx!
     
  11. Iforgit

    Iforgit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Off topic, but I really want to know where they get the info for the traffic. I was extremely impressed how accurate it was. There was a small accident on I-10 in FL and it had exactly the place that we started to slow down to exactly where the traffic ended. And this is when I started using it all the time and am alway surprised how extremely accurate it is. How they do that?
     
  12. dkjones96

    dkjones96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    7
    A lot of the freeway is monitored for speed by ground loops.
     
  13. caspertodd

    caspertodd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    6
    No, no...they are not spying on us... They are only spying on you.
     
  14. ned23

    ned23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you install a lot of "free" apps, there's a good chance you're inviting people to spy on you.

    I've noticed when I'm in a roaming area that a lot of apps try to contact the internet and trigger the roaming guard, even when you're not doing anything that requires a connection, like just playing a bubble game or something.
     
  15. pdx77

    pdx77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's why it is always a good idea to check what services the app uses before you install it.
     
  16. joeykrim

    joeykrim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    i know they can do a bit of traffic monitoring with traffic cams here in nyc
     
  17. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    what difference does it make is someone want's to know where you are? Are you hiding something?

    It's as silly as the fear that the gov't is monitoring our phone calls. Who cares? Are you talking about something that they might actually care about?
     
  18. Othan1

    Othan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    26
    I love paranoia.

    The "free" apps are using internet access for the ads they display which, in turn, contacts your GPS location (if you have that feature enabled with your internet connection). They're not necessarily spying; it can be sloppy coding as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...