Is Qik better than Fring?


Last Updated:

  1. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    I have been able to have decent video calls using Fring. Never was able to get Qik to work. Fring has been good. A slight delay on speech, quality a little grainy, but for 1st gen tech, i'm satisfied with it. Wondering if Qik has the same delays or is any better.
     

    Advertisement
  2. bandityo

    bandityo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    14
    qik has been working and keeping the chat up for about 30 seconds then force closing this morning...not working great yet
     
  3. mikevember

    mikevember Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    11
    Qik has a few seconds of delay as well, but its not something i noticed right away. I like qik better, only because of the full screen, it is very buggy and sometimes takes a bit to connect. It should get better over time. I am over all very happy with the video chat so far.
     
  4. dylan88

    dylan88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    196
    i think fring is better. i hate having to press the microfone
     
  5. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    Do what?
     
  6. saigon

    saigon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    If Qik allowed for Desktop utilization, I think it would be better but it doesn't so it serves minimal purpose to me. I'll continue to use the glitchy Fring until Skype releases an app.
     
  7. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    Tell me what you consider glitchy?
     
  8. lewi3069

    lewi3069 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    19
    Well for me its when the app wont let me call because it disconnected from Skype for some odd reason...
     
  9. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest

    I haven't been able to get the SMS confirmation from Qik, any ideas?
     
  10. igzekyativ

    igzekyativ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    25
  11. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest

    That's for premium futures. Live chat is free.
     
  12. MDbandit

    MDbandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    6
    can you use Fring to talk to a person on skype at a desktop? or only from EVO to EVO like quick?
     
  13. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest

    Yes you can call someone with Skype through Fring to a desktop.
     
  14. Rob_A

    Rob_A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    216

    Yes, I've been doing it with my wife with a 3g connection.

    Fring > Qik
     
  15. Bruiserbob

    Bruiserbob Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Fring > Qik here also. Push to talk button is silly and moble to desktop(skype) is sweet!
     
  16. rtmeikle

    rtmeikle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry for the n00b question, but how exactly does it work? I've never used Skype before. Do I need a Skype account AND a Fring account, or do I use Fring to dial someone else using Skype?
     
  17. lopezpm

    lopezpm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    26
    Another vote for fring
     
  18. eieio

    eieio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    823
  19. zpilot

    zpilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    11
    I like FaceTime's video quality :eek:

    Qik and Fring video quality is subpar even with the so-called 1.3MP front-facing cam.
     
  20. Mikesnap

    Mikesnap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    i'm in the same boat, someone gives us some oars and hook us up with some friendly help
     
  21. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest

    Yes you need both. Also make sure you add the people you want to talk on Skype through your desktop first before you log in with Fring. You won't be able to add new people to Skype through Fring.
     
  22. lewi3069

    lewi3069 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    19
    Well do a wifi to wifi call like facetime only allows and it will be clear also...
     

Share This Page

Loading...