is rooting my only option?General


Last Updated:

  1. travisbickle88

    travisbickle88 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Droid Eris currently running 2.1 OTA. I don't have another upgrade for like a year and a half. It seems to be running slower and slower. I want to root but don't want to brick my phone and get stuck with some crappy phone till my next upgrade. Can someone point me in the right direction because there are a bunch of different answers on similar threads. I just want my phone to be fast again. Is there a risk free way to root and continue using sense UI and 2.1?
     

    Advertisement
  2. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    No one here can guarantee you wont brick your phone.

    With that being said, i guarantee you wont brick your phone :D

    It's a very simple process, and you dont have to get into custom roms or anything fancy.
    Just start by rooting then you can start looking into the options you will then have. Like Overclocking, and many other things.

    Things will start to make more sense once you're rooted.

    Yes, you can continue to use Sense, althogh you might find a rom without sense to really improve your performance.
     
  3. travisbickle88

    travisbickle88 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any suggestions as to what method I should use to root? And can I overclock while using sense UI? Overclocking is referring to my CPU speed right?
     
  4. T-Keith

    T-Keith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    33
    Root your phone and install xtrsense. It will be faster and look and work like stock. Use titanium to backup your appetite, sms backup for your texts and nandroid to backup everything. Bricking is really not a concern.
     
  5. travisbickle88

    travisbickle88 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't find nandroid in the market, and does it matter what sms backup I use because there are a lot. Also if it isn't to much trouble could someone send me a link to an easy root method?
     
  6. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    The first step before anything is to get ur phone rooted. A lot of the things you don't understand will make sense.

    Nandroid is not in the market. Its a backup that can only be done after root, by booting into recovery.

    Again, if that doesn't make sense, don't worry about it.
    Root and then the fun begins
     
  7. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Nandroid isn't an app. Its part of the recovery menu that you install on your phone. The recovery menu is what you use to flash ROMs on the phone and create and restore backups. Its before the OS actually boots so its pretty old fashioned (no touch screen support).

    http://androidforums.com/eris-all-t...ed-18-november-2010-10-47-am-central-u-s.html

    Not a link to a specific tutorial per se, but there are several methods on rooting so this should help. I personally use the "type commands via the Android SDK shell interface" because it takes literally 5 minutes to do (granted that you have the Android SDK already up and running). But if you are not comfortable with typing things through a command prompt, probably one of the methods that use the phone's GUI (too slow for me, but does work) or one-click (paid) methods might be better for you.
     
    travisbickle88 likes this.
  8. T-Keith

    T-Keith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    33
    I'd recomend the one click root method and check out these threads.

    Universal 1 Click Eris Root App Apk - No PCs, No Scripts Needed, EASY - xda-developers

    How to backup or recover via Nandroid - XDA-Developers

    [READ FIRST] Eris Roll-up Thread - xda-developers

    1. one click root
    2. titanium backup
    3. sms backup( restoring from titanium screwed stuff up for me, maybe because I used a 2.2 ROM, I use sms backup and restore)
    4. copy custom ROM(s) to sd card(for you it sounds like XTRsense)
    5. boot to recovery (hold both phone buttons after turning off)
    6. do a Nandroid backup
    7. do a full wipe
    8. install custom ROM
    9. Restore apps and sms
    10. enjoy

    Remember if things don't work out you can always reflash the ROM or restore from your backup. I would reinstall apps from the market and restore data only, don't do the batch restore. System settings I would setup manually if possible.
     
    travisbickle88 likes this.
  9. travisbickle88

    travisbickle88 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is rooting going to fix phone gliches too? Because my phone keeps highlighting menus like I'm sliding my finger across the screen but I'm not touching the screen. I just don't want it to be an issue with the phone itself because if I root it will void my warranty. Is there a way to unroot so Verizon would still honor my warranty?
     
  10. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Who says rooting voids warranty?

    I've had 2 rooted phones swapped at Verizon stores. An Eris and most recently my D2.;)
     
    travisbickle88 likes this.
  11. travisbickle88

    travisbickle88 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, well that settles it then. Thank you to everyone in this thread for your help.
     
  12. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Just to be clear, I'm not saying that rooting does not void your warranty. I'm saying that they don't check for it.

    The first time they swapped a rooted phone for me, the problem was not root related.
    The second time it might have been, I'm not sure.

    But in both cases the verizon rep did what they always do.
    Tried to get the phone to work. When they couldn't , they brought out a new one.
     
  13. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    that sounds like the charger glitch that a ton of us have. try wiggling your charger usb plug around, does it swap menu items then? nothing really to do about that I don't think.

    either way, restoring a nandroid image and unrooting isn't hard at all, its all covered in the guide. if my eris ever really broke I probably wouldn't bother except for maybe loading up a sense or "stock" rom.
     
    travisbickle88 likes this.
  14. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Also, if you one-click root or root for dummies, it's fairly simple to unroot, using Erisuser1's 2.1 ROM that removes the custom recovery. Go to this, and download his ROM - store it someplace safe, so you can unroot if the time comes that you need to.
     
    travisbickle88 likes this.
  15. travisbickle88

    travisbickle88 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it matter where I get the xtrsense rom from? What is the newest one? or should I say the best version, because I know sometimes the newest version of something isn't the best version.
     
  16. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    New roms will always be in the XDA droid eris development subforum. xtrsense is up to 4.6.5 I think right now.
    [ROM][GPL][11/5/2010] xtrSENSE4.6.5 [cache2cache,apps2sd,oc,jit]-HTC Sense - xda-developers

    whatever rom you're looking for just google "tazz froyo xda" and you'll be taken directly there.
     
    travisbickle88 likes this.
  17. lakeside

    lakeside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    travisbickle88,

    I was a fairly new user when I decided to root my phone. I had my Eris about 3 months when I just tired of the SLLLLLOOOOOWWWW operations, dialing and general functionality. I was at the point I just wanted a functional Android phone.

    After reading how happy so many people were after rooting, I gave it a try.

    It was the easiest upgrade/change I have ever made.

    Believe everything, and I mean EVERYTHING Cableguynoe says about the rooting experience. If you have any doubts, read what Thrawn86 and others on this thread have posted, and BELIEVE IT ANYWAY!:p:p:p

    I promise you, you will not regret rooting your phone. The ability to add a custom ROM of your choice is a HUGE bonus. Personally, I liked the HTC sense look and feel, so I added the xtrSENSE ROM. :)

    My word of caution for the first time experience of rooting - P*A*T*I*E*N*C*E!!!! :D

    If you're not patient, you can mistakenly assume the phone has bricked or stopped working when all that is happening the rooting process.

    Let us know how it turns out.
     
    thrawn86, travisbickle88 and doogald like this.
  18. travisbickle88

    travisbickle88 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much for all your help. I rooted with xtrsense I think I did everything right. I just don't really understand how to overclock with the built-in gscripts, could someone please explain this to me? I want it to be super fast but not to the point that it will mess up my phone..
     
  19. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    xtrsense is overclocked by default unless I'm remembering wrong. you *can* change it back to defaults by loading gscript - menu - add script - and then "load file" "set cpu stock" or something like that, its been awhile. You can also load up setcpu if you want to look at more info about what your cpu is actually doing or change the governor, etc. There are several other useful scripts and they're all descriptively named so feel free to play around with them.

    the only other thing I would recommend is possibly enabling spare parts or autokiller memory management. I think spare parts is also included in that rom
     
  20. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    also remember (re: overclocking) that the eris is not an I4. its slower, smaller, and is going to take a few extra seconds to do about everything.

    ..........also remember to tell your apple buddies what you spent that extra 350$ on :)
     
  21. travisbickle88

    travisbickle88 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I understand how to load and run gscripts I just don't understand what the CPU min and CPU max numbers mean which ones do I set to make it go faster and there are two preloaded gscripts pertaining to CPU governors. Set CPU governor interactive and set CPU governor on demand. Which do I choose? And can I write my own script to set it faster than the preloaded script? If so how?

    I know these are a lot of questions if someone can answer them all I would greatly appreciate it. Or if there is a thread explaining all this, a point in that direction is appreciated all the same.:D
     
  22. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    The stock Eris runs at 528 Mhz. xtrSENSE by default will run the processor under load at 710 MHz and will slow the processor down in steps as slow as the CPU minimum value, which is 245 MHz by default. The CPU governor determines how that stepping happens - under what loads and conditions that the CPU steps up or steps down, and how quickly it steps. I really don't understand it all myself, but I'd say try each (I think interactive is the default for xtrSENSE) for a few days and see if you notice a distinct change in performance or battery life.

    You can load the scripts and change the value in the edit box before you save them. I did this myself, changing the 710 MHz script to 604800 as I prefer to get a few more minutes of battery life rather than that extra bit of mostly unnoticeable performance. If you want to try a faster speed, there is already a 748800 script. Almost every Eris can handle 710 MHz; some can handle 748 and some as fast as 810 MHz. I'd strongly suggest a Nandroid backup before making this change, though, in case your Eris locks up under the higher speed.

    The individual values that you can use for CPU speed (both minimum and maximum) are:

    19200
    122880
    160000
    245760
    480000
    528000
    604800
    710400
    729600
    748800
    768000
    806400
    825600
    844800
    864000

    (note that these should be divided by 1000 to get MHz; so, 19200 is 19.2 MHz.)

    As I said, everything over 710400 may work, but for many the phone will be unstable, and it surely burn a lot more battery. Note that there is a script to set the minimum to 19200 - you can try that if you want to save battery, and I am sure that it will work fine, but the true test is to set it, let the phone sleep for a bit and try to call. If the phone takes a long time to wake for you to answer it, 19.2 may be too slow; if not, you should be all set to run at that minimum speed. If 19.2 is too slow, I am willing to bet that the script for 160000 will be fine for you.

    Note also that there is a script called report_cpu_freq so you can see how often your phone has run at each speed.

    I hope that helps a bit.
     
  23. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Ok, I found this description of the ondemand and interactive governors:

     
  24. Endlyssly

    Endlyssly Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been thinking about rooting my Eris for a while, since I'm about ready to throw mine against a wall. But I don't understand a lot of the rooting process. The one click version looks easy enough. But then, I don't even know what "flash" means, which makes me feel pretty stupid. Excusing my idiocy, could someone please explain?
     
  25. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33

Share This Page

Loading...