Is SETCPU working??


Last Updated:

  1. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hey all,

    So I rooted my phone about 2 days ago and I did a nandroid backup, titanium backup, used titanium backup to freeze some of the bloatware..

    Have not yet installed any ROMs or Kernels.

    I got SetCPU and made several profiles in an attempt to increase my battery life.

    I wanted to see if it was working so I set up a widget, and despite the fact that my battery was at 20% (I have a <25% battery profile setting) the max was still 998.

    ANY IDEAS??

    perhaps it is working, any other way I could know??


    thanks...
     

    Advertisement
  2. DizkoDan

    DizkoDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    86
    If you haven't installed a custom kernel, then you need to disable perflock in order to underclock the cpu. Just open setcpu and hit the menu button. You should see perflock disabler there.
     
    JSS12 likes this.
  3. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    also, I have noticed that even when my battery is above 50% my phone seems to run very very slow... any thoughts?

    did I do anything wrong??
     
  4. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    Check your profiles. maybe one is overwriting the other. if you are looking for a good battery life kernel might i suggest KingXkernel #5. it has worked wonders for me. and all i use setcpu for now is just when my screen is off i can turn down the cpu.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=760050
     
  5. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks,

    but other than adding a kernel (which I have never done)

    is there anything else I can do to speed up my phone. I thought rooting it was supposed to make my phone faster??
     
  6. Roceskt

    Roceskt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oh no. rooting it just means you give yourself superuser access. You unlock it to be able to do other things that you were unable to do when the phone was stock. Has nothing to do with making the phone faster. If you are looking for speed, then you need to overclock the CPU.
     
  7. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ha, thanks... although I am quite a noob I did know that about root.

    What I don't know much about is overclocking...
    1) what does that mean?
    2) how is it done?
    3) will that decrease my battery life?

    THANKS
     
  8. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    Overclocking means running the phone's processor faster than it was rated to run on the phone when everything is stock. (In other words, "hot-rod" the phone)

    It is done by installing a custom kernel along with a program like setCPU to turn up the processors clock speed. (I know, this probably creates more questions than it answers. Jump in and help when they come guys!)

    Re: decrease in battery life... yes, and no. Overclocking the phone when it is in use will decrease battery life but you can also use setCPU to underclock the phone and increase battery, for instance when the screen is off, and thus compensate. Many times people end up with a net advantage.
     
  9. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    Also with root you can get rid of what is called bloatware. Stuff that is pre loaded on the phone like cityid, amazon mp3, and other useless apps. Once removed it will save battery life and increase performance. Also something to look into is an app called autostarts. You can turn off apps that automaticly start up. That will also increase battery life. Your apps still work fine. It's just you might not need them to start till you want them to start. That apps is like $1 and change. (sorry if its off topic just wanted to give you some suggestions)
     
  10. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks!

    I already UnderClock with SetCPU...

    maybe I'll consider overclocking with kernels, one day at a time..
     
  11. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    most aftermarket kernels offer a better speed and power management then the stock HTC one. So just because a kernel says its overclocked doesn't mean you need to do it. I have kingxkernel #5 and I'm running it at 844mhz and it feels like it runs at 988mhz (which is the stock speed). With a profile to run under 400mhz when the screen is off and when temps reach 44.6 C i have it running at half speed and it also feels like it charges faster too. But that can just be me. (just some more food for thought)

    http://androidapplications.com/58303-autostarts

    (here is the app if you wanted to check it out)
     
    JSS12 likes this.
  12. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    1) Can I put on a kernel without a ROM (I am not up to that yet)?

    2) Any kernel recommendations? (the name KingXKlick keeps coming up)

    3) How do I install a kernel?

    4) What changes should I expect to see? Anything noticeable or will it all be behind the scenes? Will I have to do anything (change any settings) or is all of that pre-programmed into the kernel?

    THANKS YOU GUYS ARE AMAZING!!
     
  13. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    1) Yes, you can install a kernel without installing a ROM.

    2) The KingXKlick kernels seem to be the choice of many, though some prefer the Hydra kernels, esp. for underclocking. I believe the dev of the Hydra kernels does not recommend using setCPU with his. The Virtuous ROM also has a custom kernel made for it, as may some of the other ROMs. The place to find many of these resources is here.

    3) You install a kernel much the same way you install a whole OS ROM. Put the rom's .zip file on the root of your sdcard. Boot into custom recovery. Go into advanced and clear dalvik cache (This is what the dev recommends for kingx anyway). Then use the custom recovery option menus to select and install a file from the sdcard and do the install. Reboot (first reboot after any install, especially with a dalvik cache wipe is done is going to take awhile, be patient.) Done with kernel install.

    4) You will not necessarily see any immediate differences although you can quickly check for your new kernel in menu > settings > about > software. Now when you go into setCPU, you will see that the sliders are capable of being raised to higher speeds as well as lower ones. Be careful with the "set on boot" option with an overclockable kernel because it can get you into a bootloop situation if you overclock to much and have setCPU fixed to autostart on the next boot.

    I think this answers most of the questions you asked. :)
     
    JSS12 likes this.
  14. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    206
    Take it as slow as you need to, and ask any questions you have to (god knows i do lol) but just so you know, flashing a ROM is as easy as loading an app from the market.

    You go to the app market and download Rom Manager. Open it, brose through the ROMs listed, and select one.

    It then asks if you want to perform a full wipe, i would suggest yes, and it does all the work and reboots into the new ROM.

    The pain in the ass for me is redoing my ringtones, settings, etc. Others tell me you can just restore all of those settings automatically somehow but i have not yet been able to do it
     
    JSS12 likes this.
  15. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    This is all good except that I've noticed an occasional boot-loop situation with some people using Rom Manager to do all their flashing for them. It might have been something weird they did and not Rom Manager, or it may have been a certain version of Rom Manager since we've had a number up updates of that app lately. I guess I'm mainly explaining why I gave the manual install method in my instructions.

    Oh, another thing, there are some good roms not listed in Rom Manager also. Right now I'm running (and loving) the Redemptive Re-EVO-lution Rom by HeyItsLou and it is not listed in Rom Manager.

    Some things (like browser bookmarks) I restore with Titanium backup, some I just go ahead and set manually (like my ringtones) because it is just fast and easy for me to do that way.
     
  16. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    1) Anyone else know any way to restore everything?

    2) What would I do if i got into a boot loop? how do I get out? (how do I not overclock too much??)

    3) Also is there any place I could go to see the ROMs (like on the computer - instead of changing from ROM to ROM on my phone)?


    Also, I looked into putting on a ROM and was sent to: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=760651

    4) They recommend doing a nand unlock, what is that? have I done it already when I rooted my phone initially? anyway for me to check?

    5) For installing a new ROM they say I have to update the Radio, do I have to do that if I just want to install a ROM? What is the Radio (just for my own education)

    (they have a guide to do it, but talk about using a file that is on the sdcard, I havent deleted anything off my sdcard from when I rooted with unrEVOked, is it still there? Can I just get the .zip they are referring to and start from the middle of their process [ie I don't want to have to root all over to do a nand unlock and a radio update?)



    Wish I could press the "Thanks" button more than once for you guys, you are amazing!!
     
  17. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    1. With titanium back up you can back up all data on the phone to a file on your SD card so you can restore any time you flash a new Rom.

    2. The only way out of a boot loop is to do a nandroid restore. Boot loops will normally happen if you try to change your framework or theme your Rom. Ie change icons, fonts, lock screen ect. Things that mess with the look and how the phone works. Just make sure when you flash something new to the phone you always do a nandroid backup. Rom manager will ask you or you can boot in to recovery and make one there.

    3. I don't know about this one.
     
  18. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    1) I have already done a nandroid backup when I rooted my phone, where would I go to restore it should something go wrong?

    2) Also, sorry but it has been about 2 weeks since I rooted, how would I do another nandroid backup at this time?

    THANKS!!!
     
  19. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    Download Rom manager. It's the easiest way to do this. Once you get it there is a menu that says back up Rom. I would make a back up anytime you change something so you dont have to go back to day one of root. Me I do it 2 times a month.
     
  20. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10

    Anyone? Please!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  21. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    sorry, thread just dropped off first page... then nobody will answer...
     
  22. Roceskt

    Roceskt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    1) I have already done a nandroid backup when I rooted my phone, where would I go to restore it should something go wrong?

    1) Anyone else know any way to restore everything?

    Same question, turn off your phone, hold the volume down key and press the power on key on top while still holding the volume key down. It will take you to Hboot. You'll see an option called "recovery". use the volume up/down keys to scroll up and down. Select option with the power key. It will take you to clockwork/nandroid. There you can use the optical track key on your phone to navigate and select. you'll see the options available and in "backup and recover" you'll find your backups. It's pretty self explanatory from there. In Titanium to restore your apps, press the menu button on the phone then select batch. you'll get the backup options available to you.

    2) What would I do if i got into a boot loop? how do I get out?

    If it's not bricked, do the recover process stated above. If it will not turn off via the power button, try removing the battery, put it back in, then do the above.

    Out of time for the moment. i will reply to the others if i know the answer and have time soon. unless someone else does first.
     
  23. Roceskt

    Roceskt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    4) They recommend doing a nand unlock, what is that? have I done it already when I rooted my phone initially? anyway for me to check?

    5) For installing a new ROM they say I have to update the Radio, do I have to do that if I just want to install a ROM? What is the Radio (just for my own education)

    See the ROMs and Kernels section of this site:

    Howto: Root the HTC Droid Incredible - Technology - Jonamerica.com

    If you followed the unrevoked "1-click" that is also described in that site near the top then you should be ready to install Kernels and ROMs. Follow those instructions and you shgould be just fine. Your Radio and Nand unlock should be fine. If you DO NOT understand the instructions there for installing ROMs/Kernels DO NOT EVEN BOTHER DOING IT! As the author advises, you are now playing with the stability of your phone's system.



    2) Also, sorry but it has been about 2 weeks since I rooted, how would I do another nandroid backup at this time?

    See the answer to "1)" in my previous post. Same thing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...