Is the camera the same with all 2.1 ROMS


Last Updated:

  1. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    I noticed that on 2.1 compared to 1.5 the camera menu options only show in landscape meaning if you hit the menu to change the settings for taking photos while in portrait you have to rotate the phone to view the text correctly.

    Is this a bug and is there a fix for it or is this the way Google decided to implement the camera software feature.

    1.5 seemed better because I could view the camera menu options in both portrait and landscape when the phone was rotated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    I would guess that it isn't a bug and that it is how it was designed. only way we'll know for sure is when Sprint ever gets around to releasing it..
     
  3. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    This is sort of true, but when you take the picture with the phone in a normal (portrait) position, the actual photo comes out in portrait.

    This is the situation with the all Eris 2.1 leaks. It may be different with the Sprint 2.1 leak that, for instance, DamageControl is now based on. Or it may not be different. But certainly, I noticed this with the Eris 2.1 build, but the pictures come out just fine. It doesn't seem to be a bug, it seems to be how it's designed.
     
  4. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    exactly.. the pic look fine..it's the menu options.. it's like that on Fresh 2.0d which is based on the same Sprint leak as DC 2.0.7
     
  5. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    But the camera on the 2.1 leaks work way better than it did on 1.5. Imo I'm willing to sacrifice the better camera for lacking portrait features
     
  6. cswee10582

    cswee10582 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'd be willing to just sacrifice the camera! I cannot get a decent picture out of this thing, even when playing with the settings...
     
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I don't know if it works better than 1.5 after the MR, but I'd say it takes just as good of a picture, although quite a bit slower shutter speed. In fact, the shutter speed is a LOT slower on 2.1 (at least on DC 2.07.2), but I still think the quality is just as good
     
  8. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    is it me or does the iphone have a better camera quality in it's pictures than the hero? 3gs looks so much better and it doesn't have a higher pixel than our camera..how is this so?

    i'm down with android no matter what tho :D
     
  9. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    every iPhone I've tried had cracks in the camera lens... of course it might have been me slamming it into the ground a few times first :D


    seriously though.. I wouldn't know if a iPhone 3gs took better pics.. my Hero takes great pics.. even inside, with no flash
     
  10. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have a friend running the latest 3GS iPhone and my Hero running Fresh 2.1d blows his camera away. (giggles)
     
  11. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.....

    maybe that's why i think the iphone's camera is looking better than my camera..YOU'RE ON FRESH 2.1D instead of FRESH 2.0D :D
     
  12. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6

    drats....I mean 2.0d. wtf am I going on and on about 2.1. Thanks for calling out my stupidity. :)
     
  13. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    It's a very easy mistake to make, as you are running Android 2.1, but it is in a ROM named 2.0..which contains the Android 2.1....I agree, it is very confusing...
     
  14. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    thanks for the clear up lol..
     
  15. peck1524

    peck1524 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    15
    I agree. The only complaint I have is that there is no flash. But other than that I've ditched my crappy Kodak digital, (I think its like 4 mp or something like that), that I've had for years and only use my phone for any pictures I take. I'm very happy with the quality and with apps like photobucket mobile etc., its super easy to get the pics online and saved to my computer via the usb cord.
     

Share This Page

Loading...