Is the hero a great smartphone..Y3s it is


Last Updated:

  1. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    I see lots of threads complaing about what Hero won't do out of the box, that the hardware is dated, that the OS needs updating.

    I was driving home today, using Orange maps to navigate me, streaming last FM, both audios coming through my jabra bluetooth transmitting via its fm transmitter, during this journey, I took calls, and got emails. The phone did not miss a beat, no lag no audio issues.

    No its not perfect, but its still brilliant.
     

    Advertisement
    DmLstr, elou75 and The_Gnome_ like this.
  2. alxmlr789

    alxmlr789 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    You got a good one then...I can't multitask handcent and browser without a ton of lag.
     
  3. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    I agree. I've no regrets getting the Hero and wouldn't swap Android for any other smartphone OS.
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Tough luck with that, mine can run a hell of a lot more than that without much lag.
     
  5. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    If its slow, hard reset it and get rid if all the rubbish you don't need
     
  6. The_Gnome_

    The_Gnome_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    49

    Great post - I couldn't agree more.

    Is it perfect? Nope, but there really isn't a phone that is (unless the bacon-dispensing phone is out now heh). It does so many things well, it should be appreciated for what it is.

    I'm a former WinMo, Blackberry, and iPhone user, and I wouldn't give up my Hero for any of them.
     
  7. MarDoubleT

    MarDoubleT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was told (and have tried to prove it wrong) that Orange maps wasn't compatible on the Hero...have they rectified this?

    But otherwise, I agree completely. Was the perfect entry to the smartphone world for me, and I'm more than happy. 2.1's just a bonus when it comes out.
     
  8. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Yes and Orange are giving it away free on all packages 30 pounds and above, there wad a thread about it here the other day.

    androidforums.com/htc-hero/13461-orange-maps-free-htc-hero-30-higher-monthly-plans-orange-uk.html?highlight=free+orange+maps
     
  9. MarDoubleT

    MarDoubleT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome, cheers!
     
  10. johnasp

    johnasp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    "No its not perfect, but its still brilliant."
    I just put my MotorolaQ in the junk drawer and got a new Htc Hero...it's like a leap into the future. I would have to agree with you , this phone is brilliant.
     
  11. brykins

    brykins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    77
    Certainly not perfect. I have a T-Mobile G2/Hero and although Android is great and the actual handset is a joy to hold and touch, the overall user experience is awful:

    3G doesn't work. Full stop. If I have the phone set to use 3G then occasionally it grabs data via HSDPA but normally falls to 2G. If the phone is set to 3G then incoming calls don't get through - phone doesn't ring, caller doesn't get answer phone. Texts are delayed but up to an hour if 3G is on.

    So I have to leave it in 2G to be able to make and receive calls.

    WiFi disconnects itself for no reason whatsoever and doesn't automatically re-connect. I have to go into settings, select my network and re-connect manually (and yes, I have all the right sleep and connect settings enabled - it just doesn't work).

    Standard contacts and calendar apps are appalling. Sync with Google works but Google online apps are worse than bad. HTC Sync is working now but appointments with NO REMINDER set in Outlook are syncing and gaining a reminder. Pain in the arse.

    That's not a Hero problem but either an Android or HTC Sync issue, though.

    Lastly, the phone will lock up once every couple of days and need a battery pull to re-liven. No telling when or why this will happen, just doesn't respond to anything and needs a pull. I've resorted to trying to minimise this by re-booting the phone every morning and lunch time.

    I am hoping, really hoping, that the 2.1 update will address the actual usability of the device as a phone because I am *loving* Android apps, customisation and community and really don't want to go back to a Blackberry if I can help it.
     
  12. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    But brykins, those problems are not typical of the Hero. I have one, and I know 3 friends that also have them (me orange, they T-mob) and they do not suffer those problems either. I'm not denying your overall experience may be horrible, but please don't generalise that to the phone and everyone else that has one. I have found my hero to be a joy to use and play with. One of the main reasons why i let my gf take it when i got a hero. Because i still want to be around to play with it.
     
  13. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    brykins, I'd feel the same way as you if I'd experienced all those issues and understand how frustrated you must be. But, aside from agreeing about the poor calendar, I haven't had any problems with wifi, 3G or the phone locking or anything else I can't live with. Wifi is rock solid on my home LAN and even with one bar signal, it never drops. Are you sure it's not a faulty handset?

    There are any number of teething problems with Android, but the overall experience is exceptionally good considering the lack of maturity of the OS. HTC have done wonders with Sense and Google seem committed to fixing bugs, albeit in their own strange way of doing things.
     
  14. brykins

    brykins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    77
    lekky and jim_h - this is my second G2 and it and the first had exactly the same issues. There's a *lot* of people on the T-Mobile forums with the very same issues. It may not be a Hero issue but it certainly seems to be a Hero/T-Mobile incompatibility issue I think.
     
  15. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    Oh, I hadn't heard about that. Man, that is poor. How can they make such a huge mess of the handset like that?! Is it something T-Mobile have done to brand the phone?

    You do have my sympathy brykins. Unless you can get out of the contract due to it being a fault caused by T-Mobile, could you root the phone instead? At least you wouldn't be tied to their broken software.
     
  16. brykins

    brykins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    77
  17. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    5
    I also took a leap from a Q to a Hero. What a difference, I can never go back...
     
  18. bbrosen

    bbrosen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    31
    Nope, i cannot multitask either without big time lag and freezes with my hero. Wish i could.
     
  19. jev

    jev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    17
    Seems to me T-mobile is at fault there. Your 3G problems certainly are connected to your provider, that's for sure. And there seems to problems with some wifi access points. Battery removal? I'm guessing you run an app that is responsible for most of these problems.

    The hero is a great machine (even though it's primary function as a phone is not the best in the world), it just works here.
     
  20. mez

    mez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    19
    Not the lag or WiFi issues but im having the same 3g/2g problems. I'm on uk orange. Orange have said its a issue with damaged degraded towers in the area. But no one else on orange i know is having a problem. I think its the branding that is making it worse. I'm waiting til 2 then if its not fixed ill root or de brand the phone. Someone else has already said smart phones are smart but are dumb down by network branding causing lots of the issues that we face.

    Also I love this phone, wouldn't move off android. Only thing i could do with is a faster start up and a built in few gb for RAM and apps rather then I minimum amount we'be been given. Love the hero/legend shape its just a shame that the other phones like evo and desire have a better spec.

     

Share This Page

Loading...