Is the Hero usable on Verizon?


Last Updated:

  1. oneheadlig

    oneheadlig Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I got the Droid the day it came out, waited 30 days, and returned it swearing that I would hold off for the Bravo/Passion/Dragon/whatever you wanna call it. Well I'm goin through serious android withdraw and don't think I can hold out any longer. I have a friend who has a hero and is tryin to get rid of it, but Im locked into Verizon. I know that theyre both CDMA so is it doable??
     

    Advertisement
  2. kyler13

    kyler13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    284
    If you mean the Sprint Hero, the short answer is "no". Conventionally, you can't take a Sprint or Verizon phone and use it on the other's network, even though they're both CDMA.
     
  3. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
    Just get the ERIS. Exactly same UI, hardware specs, etc. just has a better looking design.
     
  4. s0uthp013

    s0uthp013 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can probably unlock it with some software like the Eris (technically the same thing) but i wouldnt risk it because you probably can mess it up but like Ruben said then you should get the Eris becasue it is better (even though they are the same thing)
     
  5. oneheadlig

    oneheadlig Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ya, I had a feeling it wouldn't work. guess ill be waitin for the nexus or bravo
     
  6. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
    ...Hopefully the Bravo
     
  7. Eaglesfan9106

    Eaglesfan9106 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    14
    Uhm would you mind showing me where it says the Eris is better and second how could it be better if there basically the same phone ur dumb good day
     
  8. s0uthp013

    s0uthp013 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    that nexus one is nice tho
     
  9. s0uthp013

    s0uthp013 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    what i mean is like the features/looks DUH!! some things changed since the hero has been out like the look of the phone, for example the whole look of the phone/buttons is different
     
  10. kyler13

    kyler13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    284
    The Eris is thinner and has a proximity sensor to turn the screen off when it's against your face during a call. It also has a much better network behind it. Other than that, yeah, it's the same processor, display, and Android 1.5 so I guess it's "basically" the same phone, only BETTER.
     
  11. s0uthp013

    s0uthp013 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly!!
     
  12. Eaglesfan9106

    Eaglesfan9106 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    14
    So having athinner phone makes it better wow you people aren't the brightest bulbs in the batch and a proximity sensor? Best you could come up with I don't find myself say damn wish I had one and don't get me started on Verizons overpriced plans Sprint and verizon have an agreement that if roaming u can use the others network your just grasping onto anything to say so again I say good day
     
  13. kyler13

    kyler13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    284
    Yeah, a lot of people don't like chunky. Phones aren't getting thinner by mere coincidence, genius. And there have been plenty of complaints about the lack of a proximity sensor on the Sprint Hero. Ask first gen Storm owners how much of a PITA it is. It's standard fare these days and pretty dumb not to have it when a full, touch-sensitive display will be against your face during a call. Hard to believe a phone released in late 2009 doesn't have this. Huge FAIL.

    You want to talk about not being the brightest bulb? While Sprint roams free on voice networks, data is not free. In fact, it's metered billing. Check your fine print. OUCH. Verizon's free roaming includes data. No shocker that the company with the superior network coverage dictates terms of any roaming agreement. If I was content with Sprint's limited coverage, yeah, their plans would be great, admittedly. But you get what you pay for and unfortunately Sprint's pricing doesn't scale down nearly as much as their coverage compared to Verizon. Kinda makes it less bang for your buck, even though it's less bucks. No thanks. In any event, this is not the Sprint fanboy section of the forum. I think you're lost.
     
  14. kyler13

    kyler13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    284
    A fellow AA county resident. ;) I'm in Severna Park.
     
  15. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    Shit just got real!
     
  16. acipollo

    acipollo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    6
    Actually, the processors aren't the same. The Eris one is a tad newer build, and the Eris has 18 bit color, while the Hero is 16 bit.
     
  17. shawn487

    shawn487 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    326
    lol just throwing some gas on the fire
     
  18. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well I thought as of recently verizon would activate any CDMA phone on its network.....
     
  19. acipollo

    acipollo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    6
    Actually, there is a way to flash a new esn onto the phone so Verizon will recognize it.. I'm not sure if it's worth all the effort, though.. You could sell your Hero on eBay and get an Eris and pay the ETF for Sprint and be all set :)

    And really, the Eris is a better phone. I had the Hero and the Eris looks and feels better, the screen (18 bit) looks better, and the prox sensor makes a HUGE difference. Plus, it has capacitive buttons instead of the physical ones that the Hero has. Oh and the trackball isn't the size of an EYEBALL on the Eris :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...