Is the Highmem problem fixed in the 2.2 OTA Kernel?


Last Updated:

  1. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    In previous discussions on the Droid X and its RAM, it was mentioned that due to a "Highmem" problem, the phone was not capable of utilizing its full 512 MBs of RAM. This was found to be a problem in both 2.1 and the 2.2 leak. Through these discussions, it was mentioned that "On any kernels before .33 you only have access to 256MB ram. This includes the 2.2 froyo leak even though froyo is supposed to be .33"
    (http://androidforums.com/droid-x-support-troubleshooting/173020-how-much-ram-do-you-have.html).

    If the OTA is only a .32 kernel, does this mean that we still don't have access to all 512 MB of RAM?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Very interesting question. I wish I had an answer.
     
  3. mxsjw

    mxsjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    171
    Mine shows I've got access to 477mb of it.
    That's using the SysInfo Widget by SimoSoft Projects on the OTA 2.2
     
  4. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    With auto killer I'm usually showing about 220 MB free
     
  5. mxsjw

    mxsjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    171
    Just did a fast reboot and got 259mb free / 477mb Total...looks like OTA 2.2 is using all of it that it can.
     
  6. eulerphi8

    eulerphi8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    I actually thought this was fixed on the latest leak. I just downloaded sys info and got 477MB for RAM memory.

    However, I never have free memory for some reason even after a fresh restart It always shows about 50-60MB free. I don't actually care about the free memory, but I do care about how much memory I have access to. Is the sys info number just a lie, and I can only access 256MB with the leaks?
     

Share This Page

Loading...