Is the OTA 2.1 able to be rooted yet


Last Updated:

  1. takeyouriphoneandshoveit

    takeyouriphoneandshoveit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    8
    I had to return my rooted droid eris due to a loose power wire messing with my trackball. On the new eris, I used the official ota update that verizon finally after months of waiting released. I am wondering if this version has been rooted yet. And is it possible to change the dialer without it being rooted. I was able to change the boot screen without it being rooted and wanted to know if I could customize other things also or if the boot screen was the only thing I could customize.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
  3. abn75

    abn75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    10
    also depends on if the ota has the orignal hboot version or the same one as the leaks. the orignal can be rooted, the other cannot
     
  4. Syncopated8th

    Syncopated8th Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a replacement yesterday (real weird charger port issues). And It just dawned on me that I could possibly root this one. But, how do I figure out if the phone I have is a 2.1 OTA or a leak?
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Power off your phone.

    Hold the volume down key while pressing the power button.

    The screen that appears will have (among a few other things) either 1.49 (bad) or 1.47 (rootable). ;)
     
  6. Syncopated8th

    Syncopated8th Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much...and damn :( tis 1.49
     
  7. takeyouriphoneandshoveit

    takeyouriphoneandshoveit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok i have 1.47. do i have to load PB00IMG.zip again or can i skip straight to loading the rooted rom. I know on android 1.5 I had to load pb00img.zip first. but i want to know for sure when rooting from android 2.1.
     
  8. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    rooting 2.1 and rooting 1.5 = exact same process, follow same directions.
     
  9. Jshizzy

    Jshizzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    17
    Non rooted here. I am on leak v3. If I download and install the OTA that was floating around on forums, could it change my hboot so I could root? If definitely not, I don't think I would install it due to all the bugs that have been posted.
     
  10. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,686
    Likes Received:
    22,044
    Nah, if you've installed the v3 leak, you're already where the OTA would take you (they are identical). Your HBOOT would not change :(.
     
  11. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    57

Share This Page

Loading...