• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Is the stock droid x enough?

im no expert but you definately wont regret buying a DX. i loved mine when i had 2.1. the only reason i rooted and upgraded was because i dont like being told i cant have. if you root you can get a free wifi hotspot app. trust me, the phone worked great before. its just better now. theres plenty to do with 2.1. i was busy for a month with it. i paid for atk and uninstalled it. more than quadrupled (sp) my battery life. but i also made several other tweeks. i get about 2 days now. been downloading non stop for 24 hours now and im still going. ive never had any of the problems with my texts or shut offs your talking about. put it like this. my girlfriend bought for me as a birthday present. she hates it now. im obsessed with my phone. trust me. if you have any problems with it then come here. plenty of people to help you out.

Upvote 0
Honestly, 2.1 and 2.2 aren't much different. I have the Incredible with 2.2, and it's not this humongous upgrade over 2.1. I've rooted my X, but unrooted because I had no real reason to be rooted. I'm OK waiting for the official release of 2.2 for the X. It seems the leaked versions all have quite a few bugs.

Upvote 0
Honestly, 2.1 and 2.2 aren't much different. I have the Incredible with 2.2, and it's not this humongous upgrade over 2.1. I've rooted my X, but unrooted because I had no real reason to be rooted. I'm OK waiting for the official release of 2.2 for the X. It seems the leaked versions all have quite a few bugs.

i have no bugs with the leaked froyo versions. besides the latest leak of 2.3.13 is probably what the actual release will be.

that being said the DX is an extremely powerful device stock.

Upvote 0
i have no bugs with the leaked froyo versions. besides the latest leak of 2.3.13 is probably what the actual release will be.

that being said the DX is an extremely powerful device stock.