1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

is there a dialer just for google voice?


Last Updated:

  1. Aggiez28

    Aggiez28 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a google voice number and i installed google voice on my droid with android 2.2 but it dosnt do what I want it to do.

    I want a dialer that is only used to make calls from my google voice number.

    I know you can setup google voice to:
    -to make all calls from GV
    -to make only international calls from GV
    -make no calls from GV
    -ask if you want to use GV (before every call)

    I dont want any of these. I want my normal dialer to use my normal number and whenever I want to make a call from GV I want to click on an APP and have a dialer appear and any calls from that dialer are made with the GV number.

    my BB worked this way. I would click on GV and then start dialing and it made the call with GV.


    anyone know of anythign that will do what I want?
     

    Advertisement
  2. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    Try Voice Choice. It pretty much does what you want to above, a little more automatedly. You can preselect which numbers in your addy to dial with your GV#. Or the inverse, everything dials with GV *except* the numbers in the list. Your choice.
     
    Aggiez28 likes this.
  3. Aggiez28

    Aggiez28 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will give it a shot. If it will make all calls (from that dialer) with GV and then all calls from teh normal dialer with my normal number then it is perfect
     
  4. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    It's not actually a separate dialer.

    With Voice Choice, you decide how you want your dialer to be defaulted. GV# or carrier # ?

    Then in the VC list you put numbers to do the opposite.

    So, if your default is to show is your GV number when dialing, the numbers you add to the list will show your carrier number when you dial those.

    If you default to showing your carrier number when dialing, then the numbers you add to the list will show your GV number when you dial those numbers.

    You're using the same dialer. What the recipient sees depends on your selections above.
     
  5. Aggiez28

    Aggiez28 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    that looks like an interesting app but its of no use to me :(

    I use google voice for a side business I have and I dont know the numbers I will be calling from GV.

    what i need is an app that makes calls from my google voice number. you click on the app and start dialing a number and you make a call from GV.

    thanks for trying to help.
     
  6. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    I don't think what you need currently exists in Android.

    You could have this work thus:

    Set your default to GV and add your known numbers into the list. So that whenenver you dial a number it defaults to GV unless it's to someone on the list. Then it shows your carrier number.

    The above is the only thing I can think of to do what you need for now until the app you're really looking for surfaces.
     
  7. Aggiez28

    Aggiez28 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    You would think that this would be a fairly common app. they have it for blackerry :(
     
  8. Aggiez28

    Aggiez28 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    oops i ment to post this as a new thread.



    i have several gmail accounts and I would like to have a desktop button for each one. is there a way to do this?

    currently there is one button for gmail and once i open it i can select the account i want to see
     
  9. examancer

    examancer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually, you can do this. I didn't even realize you could until I saw your question. To do this you should go to the screen to add something to your home screen, choose shortcut, then choose gmail label. You can make a shortcut for the inbox label for each of your accounts, effectively giving you direct access to the inbox of each. Also cool is that you get to name the shortcut, which you can't do with normal app shortcuts.
     
  10. Aggiez28

    Aggiez28 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    gmail problem is solved, thanks
     
  11. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Dragging up and old thread, but I'm looking for exactly what the OP wanted.

    Very surprised that it doesn't appear to exist.

    I want my stock dialer to dial regularly for all calls. If I want to make a google voice call, I want to open up an app, type in a phone number to call and then have that app dial the call (presumably by dialing my GV #, entering my PIN, hitting 2 and then entering the number I want to dial) automatically.

    Right now, the best I have is that I created a contact to dial my GV #, enter my PIN, hit 2, but then I still have to type in the number myself at that point.
     
  12. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    You can automate everything with Voice Choice.
     
  13. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    I don't want to "automate everything". I just want to make all calls via standard dialer and once in a while make a call (to a number that's not a contact) via google voice.

    Can Voice Choice do that?
     
  14. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    For that I have a homescreen shortcut for my GV number. I just tap it and enter my PIN at the prompt, hit 2 and dial the number.
     
  15. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    I guess that's what I settled on, except, I put my PIN and the 2 in the stored number.
     

Share This Page

Loading...