Is there a way to change the carrier nameSupport


Last Updated:

  1. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to change the carrier name on this phone? I've tried everything i could find online, and none of it has worked. Does anyone know how to with the Samsung Transform Ultra?
     

    Advertisement
  2. BLuFeNiX

    BLuFeNiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    103
    [APP]carrier name - xda-developers
     
  3. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. BLuFeNiX

    BLuFeNiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    103
    Sorry, I didn't get a chance to test it. I just posted it hoping it would work for you. Can you tell us what you've tried already? That way we won't have to reinvent the wheel, so to speak.

    Also, where is the carrier name displayed? I can't find it anywhere :p
     
  5. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive tried that app, and ive tried editing the eri.xml file in several ways, those two were the only ones i found online, and neither worked.
    The carrier name, like on your lockscreen and your notification scroll/bar, it says "Boost Mobile" or your network name. I just want to change it to my name.
     
  6. BLuFeNiX

    BLuFeNiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    103
    Oh, well my phone doesn't show the carrier in any of those places. Must be the ROM I'm using (Shevron).
     
  7. munguse

    munguse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    35
    uot.dakra.lt/kitchen It's a great tool to customize your theme(battery icon/status bar/colors etc).
     
    BiHFSA likes this.
  8. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much! Do i need a custom rom to flash this? or how would i go about getting this on my phone?:confused:
     
  9. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, it doesn't work for me.. i can't find "SystemUI.apk" in my phone, not even after flashing Shevron. This sucks :(
     
  10. munguse

    munguse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    35

    files should be located here on your phone:

    system/app/SystemUI.apk
    system/framework/framework-res.apk

    Copy these files to your pc then upload to UOT and go crazy with the customizing.

    After you have sumbitted your work and downloaded the result, just flash it with CWM.
     
  11. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found the files, thanks. But it doesnt work, nothing changes.. I've tried it 5 times. I get the file and put it the clockworkmod folder. I reboot into recovery and confirm flash. It shows the script for a second and then it goes to menu.. :(
     
  12. chevanlol360

    chevanlol360 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    2,184
  13. munguse

    munguse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    35
    Did you get "recovery error (Status 0):" in cwm?

    When that happens you need to grab the update-binary file
    from your ROM and paste in the zip file.

    1. Unzip your ROM and find
    META-INF/com/google/android/update-binary file
    2. Put this file in the UOT zip (overriding UOT's file)
     
    BiHFSA likes this.
  14. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the noob question, but can you elaborate the second step?
     
  16. munguse

    munguse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    35
    No worries, did you manage to get the update-binary file from your existing ROM?

    If yes, then after you have customized your theme in UOT and download the zip to your pc, copy the update-binary file from your ROM and paste it in the downloaded zip(located in META-INF/com/google/android/) overwriting the existing update-binary file there.

    Basically you are copying the update-binary file from your ROM to the zip file you just downloaded from UOT.

    Which ROM are you using?
     
    BiHFSA likes this.
  17. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using shevron.. I can't find the "Update-Binary" file in the roms folder. It doesn't even have the META-INF folder.. I do have everything you said to have from the UOT folder though..
    Is this possible with the stock rom?
     
  18. sjvirchow

    sjvirchow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've been trying to do this for a long time, except I'm using StarScROM.

    I haven't found a way yet. :confused:
     
  19. chevanlol360

    chevanlol360 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    2,184
    In the 5.3.0 zip file it has one now.
     
    BiHFSA likes this.
  20. smith058

    smith058 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    525
  21. smith058

    smith058 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    525
    Open your latest cwm backup go into system... replace the apk... get a new md5 for system and change it in the md5 file... then restore ... done... easy...:D
     
    BiHFSA likes this.
  22. BiHFSA

    BiHFSA Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!! how do i get a new md5 file?
     
  23. Loota

    Loota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    487
    Use an md5 calculator to find the md5 hash and then edit the old .md5 with the new value.

    I've used this md5 calculator in the past...

    MD5 Calculator
     
  24. sjvirchow

    sjvirchow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    A while ago I PM'd someone on this forum, and they responded with this. This worked, however it only changed the carrier name in the Settings>About Phone>Status area, and left the status bar and lockscreen area's both blank. The method you're referring to on XDA left my phone in a boot loop.


    This is what the person I PM'd said to do.

    "Ok you have to have a deodexed rom and apk tool, or apk manager and you decompile framework-res.apk. you can't just open it with 7zip or you wont see the values folder. So after you decompile the apk it will let you access values folder that's in the res folder that's in the framework-res folder that apk tool created. Example path ( framework-res/res/values) and in the values folder there's a file called strings.xml open it up with notepad++ and go to line 1048 and replace boost mobile with whatever you want. Then recompile framework-res and the recompiled apk will be inside a folder named dist that's inside the framework-res folder. Now open up the original framework-res.apk with 7zip and then open the new framework-res.apk with 7zip also you should now have the two apk files opened up side by side with 7zip now you have to delete the res folder and resources.arsc file that are in the original apk and then copy the new res folder and resources.arsc from the new framework-res.apk to the original one you can now use the original apk and it should work. You can push the original back into the system with adb or root explorer. Or you can use the original apk to make a uot theme and it will flash it back for you."
     
    ChoznJuan likes this.
  25. sjvirchow

    sjvirchow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    Did the OP ever get this to work?
     

Share This Page

Loading...