Is there a way to hard wire this to an ethernet cable?Support


Last Updated:

  1. rcyphermd

    rcyphermd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    43
    Is there a way to connect the Transformer to an ethernet cable? (I prefer not to use wifi). Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. oakley1261

    oakley1261 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    johnlgalt likes this.
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Resurrection of old threads - that's me lol.

    Has anyone confirmed this?
     
  4. sparksd

    sparksd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    35
  5. cambo1

    cambo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use the apple USB to Ethernet adaptor and it works fine on my transformer
     
  6. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19,535
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    Unfortunately the url in your second edit did not work. I believe the corrected URL is below

    Amazon.com: USB to RJ45 Ethernet Adapter made for Android Tablets; also Windows, Linux - by BobjGear: Computers & Accessories
     
    johnlgalt and sparksd like this.
  7. sparksd

    sparksd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    35
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Thanks for the confirmation that it works. I'll check it out too.

    Using my BIONIC's 4G via FoxFi works perfectly well too, and seems to get better speeds (I'm limited to 6 Mbps upstream, my 4G gives me 18-22)
     
  9. sparksd

    sparksd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    35
    Unfortunately, FoxFi doesn't work on my Sprint Galaxy S3 except via Bluetooth. The ethernet connection gave me 23Mbps (Comcast cable) while WiFi on the same network hits around 18Mbps.

    Dave
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Ahhh. I'm kinda happy that it works (currently) on my BIONIC, meaning I can always have access if I need it. But now that you've said Sprint, I can understand, I think there was another user I was helping trying to get FoxFi working and we determined that Spring and FoxFi just don't play nicely together. Or maybe it was his phone specifically, we never went much past it to understand why it would not work....
     
  11. sparksd

    sparksd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    35
    From FoxFi's web site --

    "WiFi mode does NOT work on Motorola Droid 1, Motorola Triumph, Samsung Admire, LG Revolution or older HTC phones, use Bluetooth mode instead. "

    "Support for the new Galaxy S3 and the new ICS update for Epic Touch are being worked on. Should be compatible soon in a future update."

    "soon" has been quite a while ...
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Good point....
     
  13. ghostyjack

    ghostyjack Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it is same to say that the tablet supports this as Asus sells an Asus-branded USB-to-Ethernet adapter from their shop. UK shop link below.

    ASUS Shop - USB Ethernet Cable
     
  14. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,688
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    Sometimes you have to be careful with these things. Sometimes an OEM will make it so it needs drivers that are not available for Android on these things.

    However, that dongle will (most likely) work. It says it's compatible with the TF201, which is the Prime. It does not state TF700, which is the Infinity, but the hardware is very similar. So either it does work and Asus didn't update their product page. Or it doesn't. Anyone wishing to buy this should probably call customer support and inquire about it.
     
    johnlgalt likes this.
  15. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Good idea. Since my dock was a rebranded dock from older days, perhaps that will also be rebranded so they can continue to charge premium price :p
     
  16. ghostyjack

    ghostyjack Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well if you go to Products menus and hover, then select Tablet Accessories on the expanded menu, you can select TF700T. When you select it, the ethernet dongle is lested as an Infinity accessory.

    So for my point of view, I'd say it is compatible as Asus list is as an available accessory for the tablet.

    Granted, this could be a mistake, but their own online shop says it works, so I'd go with it, even with the fact the device doesn't mention it.

    If it turns out that it isn't compatible after I've purchased it, I hopefully am in the right to return it as it was mis-sold.
     
  17. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Problem is is that is the UK shop. I'm in the US and cannot find a comparable link for purchasing that in the US.
     
  18. sparksd

    sparksd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    35
    Check out that one in my link from Amazon - it's cheap and has worked great on my unit.
     
    johnlgalt likes this.
  19. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    964
    I use the Asus USB adapter along with a Wii usb Ethernet connector and it works perfectly.
     
    Speed Daemon likes this.
  20. pfs78

    pfs78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page

Loading...