Is there an easy backup and restore?


Last Updated:

  1. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    I came from the D1 where I used ROM manager to backup, restore and install my ROM's. Is there something like that available for the X. For all I know, ROM manager works on the X. If it does, how do you get to the recovery screen on boot?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    429
    You need Droid X bootstrapper to get into the custom recovery on boot if I'm not mistaken. You can find that here. This allows ROM manager to flash CWM then you can backup/restore. with the bootstrap app you can hit reboot recovery to boot into recovery or power down the back up your phone.
     
  3. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    Thanks for the tip with that. I downloaded bootstrapper and clicked on Bootstrap Recovery in the app. It said it was installed. I tried the "reboot Recovery" but it just rebooted, I didn't get a menu (might be something I'm doing wrong there). When I reboot my phone, I do get the popup that says bootstrapper has been granted super user permission. I downloaded ROM manager and clicked on Flash ClockworkMod Recovery. It asked what phone, and granted permission. It installed this in less than a second where as my D1 it took about 10 seconds so I'm wondering if it's really getting installed. After all this, I clicked on Backup Current ROM. I was asked to name it, then it reboots. No backup takes place.

    I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, so if anyone can help I would appreciate it.
     
  4. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    429
    You need to hit the top button in bootstrap recovery to be able to do anything with recovery. hit it. pop up says success!. then you will be able to boot into recovery by hitting reboot recovery.
     
    tjreishus likes this.
  5. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    THANK YOU! Very strange though, I did that before and it didn't work. This time it did. So that leads to 3 more questions

    1 - do I have to hit that top button each time before hitting reboot recovery or now that it's been done I'll only have to click on the reboot recovery?

    2 - If I am going to use ROM manager, do I first have to go into bootsrap, hit the top button, then go into ROM manager?

    3 - If I brick my phone, how can I load clockwork from boot to restore a backup?

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  6. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    429
    1. No. Should only have to do it that one time.
    2. No. Anytime you want to make a backup now just go into Rom manager and do it there.
    3. The custom recovery screen should come on every time you boot. If it doesn't pop the battery out. Wait a few minutes then boot back up. But if you get a hardcore brick you will have to SBF using either the 2.1 original SBF if you NEVER did the OTA. OR use the 2.2 SBF if you did do the OTA
     
  7. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    Awesome! I can backup and restore just fine now. I don't, however boot into the custom recovery when I turn off the phone and turn it back on. I did the battery pull and still no luck.
     
  8. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    429
    yeah, I'm not really sure what causes that. Sometimes it will for me and sometimes not. If I ever need to get into recovery I just hit reboot recovery in the bootstrap app.
     
  9. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    There is no easy way to get into recovery from a powered off/bricked state because of the locked bootloader. Methods are mostly hit and miss. Make sure you familiarize yourself with RSDlite and SBFing if you are going to be ROMing your DX.

    GMB
     
    tjreishus likes this.
  10. mikeydooodie

    mikeydooodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    how do i delete old backups or even rename them so i know what backup is which
     
  11. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
  12. mikeydooodie

    mikeydooodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    the lower the numbers meaning it was my first backs up right? example one is like todays date then 13... and the other is todays date with 16....
     
  13. mikeydooodie

    mikeydooodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
  14. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    The default names are the dates and time of the back up.

    GMB
     
  15. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    NP, did you use ROM Manager?

    [table][tr][td][​IMG][/td][td]ROM Manager
    by ClockworkMod
    >250,000 downloads, 18062 ratings (4.7 avg)
    [/td][td]Free
    [​IMG][/td][/tr][/table]

    GMB
     
  16. mikeydooodie

    mikeydooodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    i understand that, can i delete those backups then make a backup from what i have no ans start from scratch?
     
  17. mikeydooodie

    mikeydooodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    i used clockwork to back up i just downloaded rom manager
     
  18. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Yes.

    GMB
     
  19. mikeydooodie

    mikeydooodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    ok i got it lol
     
  20. mikeydooodie

    mikeydooodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    heres another ?, can i delete all the zip files i downloaded to install these themes and stuff or are they needed?
     
  21. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    They can be safely deleted or moved to your computer for storage, including your backups.

    GMB
     
  22. mikeydooodie

    mikeydooodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
  23. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
  24. mikeydooodie

    mikeydooodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    i need to know how to install it. im not running apex im running stock with revolution theme, i used his zip file followed instructions and then i got to the eye then it went back to droid then back to the eye in a loop and never got out of that. my question is what did i do wrong???
     
  25. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Did you mount system before installing? If you are running Revolution R2 Theme and you mounted system and it didnt work its possible that this untested MOD just doesn't work on stock.

    GMB
     

Share This Page

Loading...