Is there anyway to determine what ROM is in a Nandroid Backup?


Last Updated:

  1. cuban11182

    cuban11182 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    98
    Is there any way, besides installing the backup to determine what ROM is in it? I have a bunch of backups and would like to know if they are important anymore or not.
     

    Advertisement
  2. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    Not really, the best thing is to keep a record of your backups when you make them.
     
  3. cuban11182

    cuban11182 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    98
    Yea I figured that out the hard way. I was restoring my last 3 and decided to rename them with the Rom added to the date that already is placed on the folder. M5 error, so had to pull the card to rename them back. Guess I'll just have to keep a tally.
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,534
    Yep, that's exactly what I do. Then every so often I offload all but the original and latest backup to a folder on the PC. Also keep a .txt file in there for notes on each.
     
  5. mozetti

    mozetti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    20
    I use the app Gdocs Notepad to keep a record. It syncs with your Gdocs account by creating a specific folder that it syncs with. So, the nandroid list is available on my phone and backed up online. It just occurred to me that I could upload the backups to Gdocs, too.
     
  6. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    I just created a notepad text doc and store it right in the clockworkmod backups folder. Works great!
     
  7. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    The best way is to rename it as soon as you make it (if possible) I tend to forget sometimes too, but you gotta other wise it's so hard.
     
  8. welbinator

    welbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    44
    just use ROM Manager and name it before you even start the backup.

    or use root explorer and rename it immediately after you backup.

    all mine are CM09302010 or ID10012010 for CyanogenMod 30th of September 2010 or IncredibleDoes 1st of October 2010.
     
  9. cuban11182

    cuban11182 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    98
    I named the ones that I had in my Clockwork Backup folder and they failed when I tried to restore saying the M5 Sum didn't match. When I renamed them back to the original names they worked. I'll just have to continue to keep track of what they are. I'm thinking about deleting all the old 2.1 ones since I don't think I will ever use them again (minus the original nandroid when I first rooted).
     
  10. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    48
    I just append something to the end of the generated name and rename it back if I need it.
     
  11. cuban11182

    cuban11182 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    98
    Yea thats what I did. I'm just not to familiar with if I am able to rename it via Recovery. I was able to put it into the computer, but if I am not around one then I'm screwed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...