1. 2015 is going to be a great year for Android! Why wait??
    Samsung Galaxy Note 5 | Samsung Galaxy S6 | HTC One M9
  2. New Forum Created: Samsung Gear VR!

Is this an sd card slot?Support

1. PrinceCorwin

PrinceCorwin Well-Known Member

I have never used an sd card with my pc before but I now have to do something that involves my phone's micro sd card. Do I just buy a micro sd to sd adaptor and insert it into this slot? Sorry for the noob stuff but, hey, there's a first time for everything, right?

Attached Files:

Advertisement
    :
  2. ardchoille

ardchoille Well-Known Member

Yes, that is an SD card slot. You simply slide your micro sd card into the SD card adapter and slide the adapter into that slot. Your machine should treat the adapter as a normal SD card. This is how I transferred files from my phone to my netbook before cloud storage became available.

While you have that adapter in the laptop, go ahead and copy all of the files from it to your laptop for safekeeping.
    PrinceCorwin likes this.
  3. PrinceCorwin

Would you recommend that I use a microsd to sd adapter or a microsd to usb adapter?
  4. ardchoille

ardchoille Well-Known Member

I've used both and haven't seen an instance where either would be advantageous. I say use what you have until it no longer serves your purpose. I would think that keeping USB slots open on the laptop would be better than keeping SD card slots open, but that's just me.
    cac2us and PrinceCorwin like this.
  5. PrinceCorwin

I just got my sandisk 16 gb sd card and micro sd to sd adapter but when I plug it into the slot, nothing happens. Nothing shows up in windows explorer. Any suggestions?
  6. reeseboy

reeseboy Well-Known Member

Open device manager and scan for hardware changes.
    PrinceCorwin likes this.
  7. ortrigger

ortrigger Well-Known Member Contributor

If scanning for hardware changes doesn't fix it, try reinstalling the drivers for your sdcard reader.
    PrinceCorwin likes this.