Is wifi tether for root dead in 2.2 yes or no?


Last Updated:

  1. williamhereford

    williamhereford Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just want to know if I use the rooted final version of the OTA 2.2 blah.blah.6 does this kill wifi tether for root? This will help me decide if I want to do a rooted update, or flash back to stock and do the Sprint OTA. and wait for the rooting process to star anew.
     

    Advertisement
  2. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    I know it does not work with fresh's newest 2.2, But with Cyanagen 6.0.0 RC1 it is built in.
     
  3. williamhereford

    williamhereford Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    thank you. I am up in the air on the Cy rom as my roommate has noticed little things (to be expected with custom roms) here and there with it. Some battery drain and what not. I will probably just go back to stock for now.
     
  4. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    CM 6 has good battery life for me OC to 1.15 under clock at 245 mhz with screen off. I also use juice fender with that.
     
  5. williamhereford

    williamhereford Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, for the idea on underclocking. I to be honest I'm a tentative rooter. I occasionally am in places where I would like to use my laptop and so the tether option from Sprint for 30 seemed exorbitant. But beyond that I have been very happy with the close to stock Evo. The ease of OTA might be nice to since it seems that these updates include radio fixes as well.

    Now if rooting got me 4g in San Francisco I would keep it. I kid.

    Clearwire hates San Francisco (and LA, and NY, and....) that's why we have no 4g.
     
  6. BLOWNCO

    BLOWNCO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    22
    im running avas rev3a rom and its not working hope there is a fix coming soon

    but the rom is screamin other than that
     
  7. berardi1111

    berardi1111 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    20
    Running CM6 here, and built in tethering works fine for me.

    The tether app doesn't seem to work, but for others it does. No idea what's wrong with mine, it's annoying but I'm just using the builtin one.
     
  8. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    The stock ROM alone won't have wifi tethering enabled, since Sprint wants to charge you for it. However, if you get ANY of the reputable 2.2 custom kernels (or a ROM that contains said custom kernel), you will be able to wifi tether. If you want to preserve the stock look and feel but have the bonus features, check out this kernel:

    [Kernel]netarchy-toastmod, updated for 2.2 - Version 3.7.6c - xda-developers

    Flashing this kernel also gets you USB and wifi tethering as well as the boost in framerates and disabled perflock (enables CPU throttling).

    Reminder: do a nandroid backup before flashing anything. Make it a habit :)
     
  9. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    With this kernel do you lose 4g?

     
  10. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    autorail1 likes this.
  11. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
  12. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    Sure does work with Fresh's newest 2.2 Rom also
    4G works, but lost WIFI with this
    FPS= 52
    LinPak=43
    Quadrant=
     
  13. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    If you start with the stock OTA rooted ROM and flash the netarchy custom kernel, your wifi will work fine. The kernel doesn't break anything with the stock rom.
     
  14. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    I don't need wifi that bad. Im liking Fresh
     
  15. Shadax

    Shadax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8

    I'm going to NAND back up anyway, but is this kernel ok to apply to Flipz latest 3.1.0.1 FroYo custom rom?
     
  16. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    I just did it and everything works. 4g wifi. 52 fps etc...
     
  17. Shadax

    Shadax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yep looks good so far, really hate to look like I'm hijacking this but how do you get 52fps after using this kernel? Also how do you know this value?

    Thanks
     
  18. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    You don't have to do anything. Scroll menus and stuff. it should be smoother than before. To verify the FPS boost, download FPS2D from the market. it will run a benchmark.
     
  19. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    LOL I count real fast. No look at the market.
     
  20. arb0371

    arb0371 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can comfirm that [Kernel]netarchy-toastmod works. Been using rom manager to flash roms and unrevoked 3 as root (I know not recommended). No 4g market yet to test in Tampa but wireless tether working fine, were I live I average 2.21 down and 0.77 up; fps hitting 54. I think I'm good to go for now, wife is pissed because I 've been spending more time with my phone then her. lol. Evo Rocks!
     
  21. arb0371

    arb0371 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    by the way running 3.26.651.3 OMJ_evo_2.2_v2.0
     
  22. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    Flipz's Fresh 3.1 does not have wifi tether. He said for it to work with his, the wireless tether group would need to make a fix as of right now. Personally I don't mind since I don't need it, I'm sure he'll incorporate it soon. He's pushed out 3 froyo betas, an official froyo, a patch and then an official fresh froyo based on the official HTC OTA all since friday. He's been an absolute machine lately. This combined with netarchy's kernel has made me quite pleased. Just flashed 3.1.0.1 fresh over one of the beta's and restoring as we speak.
     
  23. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Well that's not my case.I'm running CM6 RC1 with his latest Kernal snapv4 OC @1.22 and my battery life is pretty damn good,I spend most of my day browsing the web,texting,pic........ and after 12hrs of being unplugged I'm @ 30% which is pretty good for me.I don't use juice defender.
     
  24. williamhereford

    williamhereford Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I just got the rooted update .6 onto my Evo through Clockworkmod screen by renaming it update. I am pretty sure I kept root as well. Would I be able to load CM6 this same way?
     
  25. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Yep. As long as you stick with rooted roms (all reputable custom roms are rooted and punked out with great features), you'll always have root access.
     

Share This Page

Loading...