is your battery cover branded " With google"


Does your COver show "With Google?"

  1. Yes

    43 vote(s)
    43.9%
  2. No

    55 vote(s)
    56.1%

Last Updated:

  1. Mrniceguy

    Mrniceguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have a hero with a blanke battery cover... except for htc at the bottom

    My roomie just got his today and the back cover says
    With google....
    who has what?
    and is there any other diff?
     

    Advertisement
  2. rswheaton

    rswheaton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9
    Mine is blank? This could be interesting? Your roomie also purchased a Sprint Hero?
     
  3. pdragon

    pdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    19
    From what I've heard, those that got them early from Best Buy are all unbranded. Also, a lot of those that got them first thing Sunday were too. After that, they've been branded ones.

    Could be wrong, but that's what I gathered from another thread where people were discussing a bug in the difference Mobile Network Type (unbranded say EvDo rev.0, while branded say rev.A).

    Personally, I'm glad I have an unbranded one. I like google and all, but the phone just looks better without it IMO.
     
  4. Mrniceguy

    Mrniceguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    5
    My roomies is Branded and the only diff ive found thus far is his had the Visual Voicemail update pre installed...
     
  5. sr1982

    sr1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got mine early from Best Buy and mine says "With Google" on it
     
  6. sir_knoxalot

    sir_knoxalot Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guys,

    New member to the forum. Love the Hero.

    I got mine on Friday from Best Buy and mine doesn't say 'Google' on the back.
     
  7. nathanotis

    nathanotis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    17
    The only real difference is that the "without google" Heroes were made in an earlier run than the "with google" Heroes.

    Promise.

    (FWIW, i didn't get mine from Best Buy, and I'm the 4th "without google" on the poll)
     
  8. Mrniceguy

    Mrniceguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well who knows maybe there are some other differences... i actually kind of with mine had it :( maybe roomie will trade me
     
  9. Aldo Junior Ao2

    Aldo Junior Ao2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    65
    I have the With Google brand on the back. I also have one without the google and there is no difference at all also you will know it is branded before you even open the box for those who want to trade one in for a branded one because on the front top right of the box it will say htc hero with google and non branded will only say htc hero. I am looking at both boxes now and i am scurd.
     
  10. Destructo21

    Destructo21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the Google brand on the back.
     
  11. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    purchased: Fri, Oct09 - w/ BB RZ coupon! heh!

    the first 50k units didn't have the google branding, but they *are* "with Google" phones




    those that don't have it are a bit of an anamoly and those who have them for the most part consider it a mark of distinction
    :cool:
     
  12. Sabre66

    Sabre66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine is "without" the Google branding and I prefer it that way. Although, once we put covers on them you'll never see the difference...but we'll know it :)

    I was first to get one on Reward Zone Friday at my BestBuy store. I went back a few days later to ask about the "with Google" ones and they said that didn't have any. Who knows why or how it happened but I'm as happy as a kid with an ice cream cone with my Hero.
     
  13. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    just buy a "with google" battery cover.. Done...
     
  14. Flying Bones

    Flying Bones Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    With...not that anyone would ever know behind the case.
     
  15. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    mine says with google, got it from BB
     
  16. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    purchased mine from BB on the monday after launch.. no silk screening on the phone..
     
  17. bruceo

    bruceo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1
    you "with google" guys check settings, status, mobile network type ans see if it says rev 0 or rev a?
     
  18. steb0ne

    steb0ne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    HTC said, that those showing rev 0 will still get rev a speeds where available; that's supposedly a glitch showing rev 0
     
  19. Mrniceguy

    Mrniceguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    5
    roomies phone is with google and it shows REV A
     
  20. mamiamjo

    mamiamjo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    I purchased mine early (Friday Oct 9) at BB and it doesn't have the "with google" designation on the cover. It also shows Rev.O not Rev A

    I really don't want the extra script on the cover, but would like it to say Rev A (even if it really is Rev A. speed without saying so)
     
  21. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    i will test the speeds i get with my REV A PRO2 against my non google'ed hero and post to put this to rest... REV A has been out for quite some time and these phones are standard REV a....
     
  22. poor_red_neck

    poor_red_neck Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1


    I got my hero on the friday pre release and it has with google

    Also mine is a branded that displays rev 0

    what ive read is you are more than likely on a rev 0 tower but the phone is capable of rev a
     
  23. anikko

    anikko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got mine 3 weeks before release. No "with Google". States Rev. 0 (not an issue since it still gets rev. A) The first software update will fix labeling.

    Also mine is missing the voice recognition option on the google search bar that pops up when you hit the search button. I guess that's because it's an early pre release model. :eek:

    I'm looking forward to the first update, so I can voice search. ;)
     
  24. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thats incorrect if you believe what they are saying. And by they, I mean Sprint and HTC.

    The phone is supposedly on Rev A, showing Rev 0, and its nothing more than a visual bug for some handsets, while others will show Rev A.

    I still have yet to hear whats causing the difference though.
     
  25. Mrniceguy

    Mrniceguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    5
    Mine will let me voice search and I'm non with google...
     

Share This Page

Loading...