Issue: Dismount/disappearing defect in the Included 8GB MicroSD?Support


Last Updated:

  1. bvalenzu25

    bvalenzu25 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    I contacted sprint about this problem tonight, they told me they knew about it already. Sprint said the only phones that have this problem are the ones that google gave to their employees and to the reviewers. It was a software issue,apparently the issue was only with the first 2,000 phones google gave out. With the phones being released on June 4th, the software issue is resolved. I am switching form the Crap pre to the HTC Evo 4G, and I am glad to now be a part of Android Forums. Thanks guys and have a good night.

    Lakers back in the Finals baby. Boston is next:)
     

    Advertisement
    SHO_ONE, Rob_A and mcbtrain929 like this.
  2. amit84

    amit84 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
  3. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    I could care less... that's $30... a drop in the bucket. Hey, I'm fine with this measly 2gb card. (I feel old... I remember having a 128mb jump drive and thinking it was a lot of space) I only really use it for the camera and whatnot, that and I dump whatever pictures I take through the day as soon as I get home. If the 8gb card that's thrown in is total bunk, it'd be a disappointment, yes, no doubt. But it's only a trinket so you don't have to go out and get one right away. The 2gb that came on my Hero is small, but it's enough to get me started, which I think is the point of them.
     
  4. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    51
    There is already a thread for this - Delete =] Stop being a gando.
     
  5. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
  6. p00kienrayray

    p00kienrayray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    15
    any manufacturer's defects = covered by 1 yr. warranty. if its an sd card issue, thats a super easy fix, no need to send the phone back to sprint.
     
  7. Bek

    Bek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    485
    Mod merged, thanks
     
  8. Bek

    Bek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    485
    Who did you contact? Customer care? An actual tech rep? Did they resolve it or just make up an excuse?
     
  9. railslave

    railslave Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    i remember the mogul having the same issue, i think it was software related
     
  10. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    5,014
    Threads merged.

    TS
     
  11. crumsnatcha

    crumsnatcha Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    From the Facebook Evo fan page, courtesy of Robert Becher:

    "I contacted sprint about this problem tonight, they told me they knew about it already. Sprint said the only phones that have this problem are the ones that google gave to their employees and to the reviewers. It was a software issue,apparently the issue was only with the first 2,000 phones google gave out. With the phones being released on June 4th, the software issue is resolved."
     
    RichboyJhae and GeneralPatton like this.
  12. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134
    i just had this happen, battery pulled solved it temporarily but we better get in on some of that software fix action!!!
     
  13. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117
    Considering there are only around 5000 phones out in the wild (and how many of those are being used at all and of those that are being used how many are heavily accessing the uSD card), I definitely think there is something to worry about. There are no "masses" yet so the number of posts here seem disproportionate. I'm hoping it's a software issue because if the issue is related to the hardware it's going to require a recall of all the devices manufactured to date.
     
  14. GeneralPatton

    GeneralPatton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    38
    Let's hope this is accurate for us waiting for the June 4th release, and let's hope Sprint does some form of software update for those who eBayed the Google I/O phones!
     
  15. Colorado_Al

    Colorado_Al Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    75
    I have phone "googlehtcevodemo138" I had this problem the first time I started the phone. Reseated the card and did not have the issue until this morning, 6 days later. Reseated the card and then no error.
    I have an 8GB microSD from my TP2 that I just reformatted on my PC and I am going to use it and see how it goes.

    Curious, 8GB microSD from my TP2 when formatted fat32 lists 7.60 GB available.
    8GB card from Google I/O when formatted fat32 lists 7.39 GB available.
     
  16. AM2

    AM2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    185
    i formatted a 16g last night on my laptop, and it showed available space as 14.58g....is it normal for an empty card to show less mem like this...r there hidden files or something?
     
  17. Colorado_Al

    Colorado_Al Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    75
    It is normal to show less space, as the formatting takes some room.
     
    AM2 likes this.
  18. bvalenzu25

    bvalenzu25 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    I spoke to a Sprint tech and she spoke to her supervisor. She was very helpful, and the info she gave me was very accurate.
     
  19. Bek

    Bek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    485
    And what additional info did she give you? Did they not address whether current Google I/O Evo holders would be able to obtain fixes? Your posts read as if you're withholding additional information, which is not being terribly helpful to those of us here in the thread who have been experiencing the issue.
     
  20. Rob_A

    Rob_A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    216
    " When you format a memory card, the size indicated by your device or PC may appear smaller than the advertised capacity of the memory card.
    Computer Operating Systems commonly define 1 Megabyte (MB) as 1,024 Kilobytes (KB). Flash Memory Card Manufacturers commonly define 1 Megabyte (MB) as 1000 Kilobytes (KB).
    Therefore, a memory card with an advertised capacity of 128MB may show a smaller formatted size on a PC. This is standard for all memory cards. "
     
    AM2 likes this.
  21. Rizop

    Rizop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have had this issue as well. I keep reseating the card , but this happens every couple of days. I sincerely hope this isn't a hardware issue
     
  22. wase4711

    wase4711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    157
    Sprint has said this is a software issue with the pre-release EVO's,and ALL the units coming out on the 4th of June have had this software updated and fixed...end of story, hopefully
     
  23. Colorado_Al

    Colorado_Al Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    75
    I don't buy it. I'm betting that all of the Google I/O and retail units were boxed at the same time with the same SW.
     
    Archon810 likes this.
  24. shokher99

    shokher99 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I saw the no permissions message on my camera after the long format procedure. Needless to say I was bummed. The thing is I left the phone on because I was going to change the battery in a few minutes anyways. Well long story short, I opened the camera app again without reboot and it recognized the card. Hmmmm. Now what?
     
  25. spridell

    spridell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    166
    I am sorry but I dont buy it either. These phones have been boxed and ready to ship out for a while now.

    There is no way Sprint or HTC handed out 2,000 "test" units to the Google conference people. That would be suicide for both of them.

    If RS alone has gone through 200,000 pre-orders there is now way from last week when the google people got their phones until the release next week that all those phones will be fixed.

    I am willing to put money on it that if the google phones have this problem the phones next week will have this problem also.

    On a side note: I have been using a 16gb card in my EVO for about 3 days and have not had the problem yet. Keeping my fingers crossed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...