Issues multitasking (white/black screen, etc) on the HTC EVO 4G LTESupport


Last Updated:

  1. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    694
    Anyone experiencing any issues with multi tasking...I read a few things prior to getting the phone and now that I have it. It's hit or miss..sometimes it will bring me back right where I was..and other times it will reload the page...tho in "recent apps" the picture shows where I last was...

    In the words of Isn..sound off below!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7,159
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    I haven't had any issues with mine. It takes Mr right back where I was. With the exception of the Phandroid app. That always defaults to the home page.
     
    3vodroid and marctronixx like this.
  3. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    694
    Should it take me right back to where i was on say..facebook?
     
  4. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,677
    Likes Received:
    3,468
    if you "back out" of an app you are closing it out. if you just tap "home" or go to the pull down and access something else (an alert or somesuch, etc), that app you left should be right where you last left off from it.

    if you have moved on to other things, after a while, the OS will see you have not accessed it in some time and then close it out (even if you had left it running in the background).

    this is standard Android. some of you must not be used to Android and how the OS works.
     
    KENNECTED, PattiCakeUS and 3vodroid like this.
  5. KoukiFC3S

    KoukiFC3S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    85
    HTC Sense 4.0 is really agressive in killing background tasks. That's why the OP is concerned.
     
    3vodroid and EarlyMon like this.
  6. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    694
    Yes exactly right
     
  7. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    694
    I know how android works I've had it for years.... When I reenter the app it starts over.. Not all the time but sometimes.... I was told that that's how they want it to work and sense is aggressive when killing apps.. But in no way am I a newbie to android
     
  8. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,677
    Likes Received:
    3,468
    ok well if you understand why its doing it then whats the issue exactly? :confused:
    and i am not trying to say you are a newbie to anything. i dont know your experience with android hence why i made that statement.

    so we know the OS can be aggressive with some apps and lenient on others.

    would rooting the device and cooking a ROM change these characteristics?
     
    3vodroid and EarlyMon like this.
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,603
    Likes Received:
    70,175
    marctronixx likes this.
  10. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    694
    I didn't realize it was supposed to to that until after I made the thread... My 3vo woud always bring me right back where I was... So I didn't know if I was ding something wrong lol
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,603
    Likes Received:
    70,175
    OK, I find this terribly interesting. It's a reply to htc evo 814 in response to his issue about Sense restarting - a related action, because in that case, Sense is bailing to make room for apps, instead of vice versa.

    Does that mean that there is an easily accessible way to tune it??
     
    3vodroid and marctronixx like this.
  12. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    694
    Very interested to see if there is...

    The dev options are a cool thing to see on this phone Btw.... Makes me want to learn more about android and try my hand in development
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  13. KoukiFC3S

    KoukiFC3S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    85
    A custom kernel can really make a difference. On the GNex some devs enabled zram which lets the phone keep even more apps in memory so they don't have to reload. It works great.
     
    marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
  14. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    1,191
    Interesting indeed.
    "Don't Keep Activities" was a solution/troubleshooting step to a few One X problems I recall reading.

    It is not totally customizable/tuneable. :(
    Though right below the option to "Don't Keep Activities" you can set a "Background Process Limit", click it and you get the limited choices of "Standard Limit", "No Background Processes", and "At most 1 process", ... 2, ... 3, ... 4"
     
    EarlyMon and 3vodroid like this.
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,603
    Likes Received:
    70,175
    We might be able to get to the set points via System Tuner and root, but until custom recovery and full nandroids exist, I think fiddling with those would be insane.
     
    PyroSporker likes this.
  16. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    694
    Oh boy..... I have alot to learn... Lol
     
    marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
  17. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    I can confirm that the Evo has the same aggressive memory management issues present in the One X. Sometimes even the Sense launcher gets killed when i've opened enough tabs in Chrome.
     
    3vodroid likes this.
  18. couragedragon

    couragedragon Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    31
    Same thing for me, although I haven't been using Chrome all that much, but definitely happens when I have several apps going. The first few days I didn't experience Sense getting killed and relaunched, but it has happened a couple times in the last 24 hrs.

    It hasn't become unbearable or overly annoying .... yet.

    I still love the phone overall though.
     
  19. hobbesOSU

    hobbesOSU New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a Rhapsody user and there are issues getting the Rhapsody app to play in the background. I'll start the app, play a song, hit the phones home button to send Rhapsody to the background. Then I'll move on to other things, Facebook, Reader, and then Rhapsody will just stop.

    I've brought the issue up to Rhapsody, just letting others know.

    Google Play Music acts as expected, never closes when in the background.
     
  20. nullspace

    nullspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    98
    Anyone else having problems with the System Panel app? It keeps turning off and on by itself (or could be crashing, but no Force close notifications). So it makes monitoring and history kind of out of wack.
     
  21. cooper1010

    cooper1010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    176
    I could never get it to monitor, only show current stats.
     
  22. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    This is an issue with the aggressive memory management of the LTEvo/One X -- apps are much more likely to get killed and it looks like the monitoring of SystemPanel App is falling victim to that.

    1) You can set SystemPanel App to "high priority", which requires that an icon show up on the taskbar. However, the memory management is so aggressive here that even a high priority thread can get killed. I can personally demonstrate this where I would go into Chrome browser, start opening links as new tabs, and then eventually the SystemPanel App icon will just disappear from the taskbar.... outrageous.

    2) Strangely, my personal solution was, in addition to setting SystemPanel App to high priority, to get rid of using Sense altogether. I switched to ApexLauncher for my homescreen, which I found to consume a lot less memory, and inexplicably, SystemPanel app has not been killed as of late.

    Let me know what you guys find.
     
    novox77 likes this.
  23. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,603
    Likes Received:
    70,175
    Root users can try Viper rom, it's tweaked to make task bailing less aggressive.
     
  24. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Are you suggesting that replacing the Sense Launcher with any 3rd party launcher works around the aggressive mem management issue?
     
  25. Sauske

    Sauske Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    351
    I assume people wanted aggressive memory!? Early android day's people wanted to why app kept running!
     

Share This Page

Loading...