Issues reported on the Note 2General


Last Updated:

  1. bamhm182

    bamhm182 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    20
    I don't really see what you're talking about. I use either Chrome or Dolphin HD most the time, so I'm never in the stock browser, but I just fired it up and loaded a few web pages and they load fine for me. It's possible that it could be the web page itself that's screwed up. Can you give us some examples?

    As for staying in Desktop view, switching to another browser, like Dolphin HD, would fix this right up for you, as well as add in a ton of other nice features.
     

    Advertisement
  2. evohicks

    evohicks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    166
    I know what you mean but its not just this phone that does it, my S2 was the same. I use Opera mate, double tap the page and it resizes perfectly. I remember the HTC's were good for this on stock browsing.
     
  3. animal47

    animal47 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes it works but I have come from an htc where once you have chosen desktop mode it then stays in it rather than having to reselect it on every new tab you open.
     
  4. animal47

    animal47 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    17
    No point in giving examples as it is the same on every new web page I open, looks like I had better start looking at new browsers which is something I have never felt the need to have to bother with before.
     
  5. evohicks

    evohicks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    166
    He means the web page doesn't load in proportion to the screen. If you double tap it still needs resizing to fit the screen properly. As I said before its not just this phone that does this, I think it's a Samsung thing for sure.
     
  6. PetiePal

    PetiePal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    43
  7. Bonez

    Bonez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    144
  8. Bonez

    Bonez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    144
    It's more than likely anything that has gotten updated to Jellybean, not just a Samsung thing. My Asus Transformer Infinity also did this and I fixed it in my post above.

    Not to say that will work on all devices, but worth a try.
     
  9. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    932
    ^ This would be better served in the accessory thread.


    On another note, one of the things I don't like about "issue" threads is instead of figuring out how STOCK can be fixed it's always suggested to use something else which sort of defeats the purpose of fixing anything.

    To the OP, it's good you started this--don't get me wrong but as someone else said, there is already an issue thread; why do we need 2?
     
  10. bamhm182

    bamhm182 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    20
    Whoops, sorry. Didn't see that we already had an issues thread. We can just let this one die.
     
  11. Bonez

    Bonez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    144
    That's because STOCK most-often SUCKS! lol There's always something better out there, hence why we have an app store in the first place. :)
     
  12. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    932
    LOL! I'm starting to enjoy the stock experience. I feel with each better phone certain apps just get better. No, they're not all perfect so the app store will certainly not loose any customers. :D
     
  13. bamhm182

    bamhm182 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    20
    While I wouldn't quite say the stock experience sucks. I would say that in most cases, there are third party applications that do the job of stock applications WAY better. For example, the stock browser doesn't really suck, it works perfectly fine for browsing the internet, however, browsers like Dolphin HD have many more plugins and nice features that making browsing the internet even better.
     
  14. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,158
    Likes Received:
    4,972
  15. Liam548

    Liam548 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    21
    eh, no 3G and voice call at same time??? are we going backwards 8 years?
     
  16. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    932
    I feel you!!! I don't think anyone really knows yet why it was opted out of the Note 2; at least Sprints version I'm aware of so far.
     
  17. austin_porada

    austin_porada New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is anyone else having trouble enabling auto-correct? My phone will not correct simple miss-spellings and it won't change youre -> you're. Pretty simple things here. They have to have auto correct on the Note II right? They wouldn't sell a phone built around taking notes, and not include auto-correct... would they?
     
  18. evohicks

    evohicks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    166
    On my setup I have the suggested words to use just above the keyboard, so if I type a mistake or join two words by mistake for instance the options are there to correct it. I prefer this much more than my ipad which would auto correct and sometimes put in the wrong words.
     
  19. CzechPleez

    CzechPleez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    19

    The marks/selects is a "feature" of the S Pen. You can disable.
    Settings > S Pen > Air view (check or uncheck to your preference).

    If you're a Sprint customer you should be receiving an OTA update any day that will give you Multi window view and more features.
     
  20. drexappeal

    drexappeal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10,517
    Likes Received:
    3,009
  21. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    932
  22. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Sorry I am late to the party

    For the browser...try the format setting in advanced

    If you are looking for text reflow (like HTC) zoom in then double tap. That was changed because of apple.
     
  23. Harplayr

    Harplayr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    13
    Are there any browsers or apps that will enable text relflow?
     
  24. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Not really sure but check opera


    Or zoom in and double tap
     
  25. Harplayr

    Harplayr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    13
    I pre-ordered from Verizon so I don't have the GN2 yet. I was just wondering if anybody that has the phone has eiter found a browser that does this or a workaround.
     

Share This Page

Loading...