Issues with I7500Support


Last Updated:

  1. bhappyharsha

    bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have few of questions regarding my I7500 phone. Just got the GPRS working and i am able to browse few sites.

    1. I am not able to connect through Market, Gmail, Youtube or any Google related sites. It gives me the following error messages randomly:
      A. Cannot establish a reliable connection to the server. (With being able to browse other sites just fine like yahoo, twitter, etc)
      B. You do not have a network connection. (With full signal)
    2. Also, when i am browsing, if i want to exit the application (browser), how do i do it?
    3. I would like to know how to switch between two applications that are open, say, a browser open and i go to home page, access the market, settings etc, How do i come back to the website i was accessing?
    4. I'd like to install some games like Bejeweled etc on my phone. How do i do it?
    Regards,
    Sri Harsha.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    OK, now that's a weird one, but I seen much more. :p
    Regarding gapps, maybe just maybe your GPRS settings aren't right (better look in it yourelf), your provider can help you with that. Or install them again, don't know if you're on Sam*censored stock ROM or on Galaxo/GAOSP.

    Now for some of your questions:

    1. maybe related to your GPRS settings (take a look in it yourself) or ask your provider for information regarding that. Check if Data enabled is checked in Settings/Wireless & networks/Mobile networks/Data enabled + take a look if you're using 2G networks (using 3G is faster but drains your battery faster - so take your jump).
    Advice: use WiFi if possible/available - saves you money and it's much more stable

    2. exiting is really easy just use the HOME key (returns you to the HOME screen), using the back button just does that returns you back on the previous site or returns you to the HOME screen (if you just opened the browser)

    3. I think there's option in the browser to save the site you where in, don't know which browser you're using (I'm using Opera and Skyfire, btw)

    4. Market or by downloading the apk file and installing it with File Manager or thru adb commands (GAOSP nightly with the new gapps comes with integrated File Manager of its own, nice :D )

    Phew... :p

    P.S: maybe someone will give you better tips (writers blockade :p )
     
  3. PFKaKRL

    PFKaKRL Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    @PFKaKRL tired, the weather is so f***ed up (cloudy, getting ready to rain any moment now) :(

    @bhappyharsha try to look in your GPRS settings, PFKaKRL gave you the link so take a look. Off course if you're from India if not... ...get the info from your provider or google it (can't live without it :p )
     
  5. bhappyharsha

    bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks... I am from India, Hyderabad.

    Will check for these settings.. My service provider is Vodafone and they don't have a single person who is knowledgable.

    Anyway, let me try my luck again. Will get back if i have any other issues.

    Regards,
    Sri Harsha.
     
  6. PFKaKRL

    PFKaKRL Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    i knew i knew :)

    good luck..
     
  7. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    You better write if that helped, just so we know. :p
     
  8. bhappyharsha

    bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the replies.. I've tried those settings and majority of them are for prepaid. I have a post paid connection and it is Vodafone live. I have also gone through the google post link and tried that. Still i am not able to access Market or Google sites.

    Regards,
    Sri Harsha.
     
  9. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    Try reinstalling gapps, maybe that will help.

    EDIT: try looking here in the post #39
     
  10. bhappyharsha

    bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done this but still it does not work.

    Also, can some one tell me how to use digital zoom in the camera?

    Regards,
    Sri Harsha.
     
  11. bhappyharsha

    bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do i do this???


    I have done this but no help!! :(
     
  12. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    Download new gapps (don't know which you have) from Drakaz 17 MB, push gapps via adb or copy them on SD card. Go to recovery (restart in recovery), fix permissions and apply any zip (gapps). And voila, you have reinstall them. Only for GAOSP nightly, and for Galaxo infect's site. And for stocked ROM use google search.

    Btw, which ROM do you use?
     
  13. bhappyharsha

    bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Entire thing is a bouncer... I am a novice in the open source platform from a non-technical background. Anyway, I will spend sometime reading the basic guides and FAQs this weekend and try something (hopefully)

    I am assuming it is the default one because i've not updated to Galaxo or something and infact, i have not done anything in my phone :(

    Regards,
    Sri Harsha.
     
  14. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    holding down the home -button is the android equivalent to windows' alt+tab switching, altho' the galaxy has such a low amount of ram that the browser is likely killed in the background if you do anything even slightly more contrived; accessing settings etc. shouldn't be a problem tho'
     
  15. bhappyharsha

    bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... Finally, i am able to browse google through the inbuilt browser after getting the Vodafone Mobile connect working. However, it is strange but i am not able to connect through the Market, GMail applications. I am able to access Google Maps.

    Will re-installing google apps help? If so, how do i re-install them?
    If not, what is the alternative?

    Regards,
    Sri Harsha.
     
  16. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    In recovery just apply any zip (gapps) and that's it. But choose fix permissions first.
    Hope that this helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...