Issues with internal phone storageGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. PokerMunkee

    PokerMunkee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Having storage issues with my wife's Eris. She has Hotmail (POP3) and a work POP3 account set to sync. Even if she deletes everything in inbox/deleted items, the Mail app is 95mb. There is no option to clear cache or anything in app manager. I have deleted both email accounts, removed the battery and it still does not free up the space (still shows 95mb).

    How do I get the Mail app to shrink back to nothing?

    Whoever at HTC thought it was a brilliant idea to have apps/mail only be stored on their freakn 100mb internal partition is a freakn' genious! Jeebus, I'm about to buy her an Incredible with some real storage and power, but I'm not spending more money on her damn phone addiction! :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. DaWeav

    DaWeav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    53
    Open up the HTC Mail app, and then open any email account that you have setup for 'POP3'. Tap Menu button, then tap Folders, and then tap TRASH. Now, delete all the previously deleted email you find in the TRASH folder. Just note that any email account setup on the phone in POP3 mode will just leave all the deleted emails in the trash folder for each POP3 email account on the phone. I don't know why they think we need a trash folder for POP3 email on a phone, but there it is!


    Additionally, when I did this the first time, I went from 42mb of internal storage to over 85mb. I hope you see similar results.
     
  3. PokerMunkee

    PokerMunkee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nada. I have deleted the email accounts and the HTC Mail app is taking up 96mb. No way to free this space up. After a few searches, I'm not the only one with this issue.
     
  4. enthused91

    enthused91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having a similar issue. I put my imap aol email account into the mail app, and now want to free up space and just check my email through the web - so I deleted my email account in the mail program, but no space has been freed by doing this. So, I tried to re-enter my email info into mail, so I could look for a delete mail account data option in the program itself possibly, but when I try to add my account, it tells me that it already exists, even though when I open the program it is at the main setup page.... anyone have any suggestions about what i can do? I am down to 4 mb of space on my phone!
     
  5. ErisDroid?

    ErisDroid? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hotmail offers an imap server, you have to pay for Hotmail though. That will keep messages on their server, not your wifes phone. She could also auto forward those two accounts to her G-mail account. That's an imap account and it's part of the OS.
     
  6. derwyn

    derwyn Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try to clear the cache/ data? Settings>applications>manage apps>mail>clear data and clear cache. This might work for you.
     
  7. enthused91

    enthused91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    It won't let me do either.... there is a clear cache, which is greyed out, and it says the cache is at 0.00, and that is it... no clear data option.....

    PLEASE SOMEONE HELP!! I need to free up phone space, and there are 25mb in there that I don't use... if I link a different email account to the mail program, will I get back the ability to clear the data? it won't even let me re-setup the email address I was using because it says it already exists, even though it isn't setup in there.....
     
  8. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    It sounds like when you delete the account without first removing all of the email for that account, the email remains in the phone. (an 'oops' if ever I heard one).
     
  9. enthused91

    enthused91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok..... but I need to know what i can do to remedy this..... I now can't clear the data, and I can't re-associate my email account with the program to in there delete any data, so I am stuck....! I am honestly not too thrilled with the 2.1 update, everything on my phone has been wacky and annoying ever since!
     
  10. WineJones

    WineJones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Have you tried deleting the e-mail data using a file browser when connected to a computer?
     
  11. derwyn

    derwyn Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can't get to the clear cache option you might need to bite the bullet and do a factory reset. If you haven't done one since the update it should help out with some of the other issues you might be having as well. You can back up your apps using appbrain or astro from the market.
     
  12. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    I'm afraid Derwyn probably has the right answer, which is not a fun thing to do.
     
  13. enthused91

    enthused91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ugh... you are probably right... can you tell me exactly what I will loose by doing this? For instance, I use handcent, will my custom settings for certain users be erased? What about my Grocery IQ grocery list? I play zenonia and parallel kingdom, will all that data be erased as well? Dolphin's 'Read it Later' saved sites? Audio Manager saved profiles? Oh my gosh, I hate the thought of all that work!!! This phone could be a full time job I swear!

    All the time and effort I've put into trying to get it how I want it, and now I'm supposed to spend the time to do it all over again??? I have astro and my apps, but I'll have to make note of what apps I have installed and what ones just used to be installed... and there is no way to screen capture anything.... seems to me there should be a better way to maintain everything and do a reset, but I doubt there is.
     
  14. derwyn

    derwyn Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I feel your pain, I imagine your settings/data will be lost, but if you sync with appbrain it only shows the apps currently on your phone. Not sure if it will save data on Zenonia or not. On the plus side you could download launcherpro or adw and it'll seem like you just got a new phone. Hope it works out for ya.
     
  15. enthused91

    enthused91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are launderpro or adw?
     
  16. derwyn

    derwyn Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are new launchers that replace sense. A majority of people will tell you they are faster, I'm using launcherpro now and it seems about the same to me. Installing them allows you to change the number of screens you use (I set mine to 5 instead of 7), gives you different options on appearance and docking apps. They're both pretty good, but you will not be able to use the sense widgets. The android widgets still work though, so you can find replacements in the market for the sense ones.
     
  17. PokerMunkee

    PokerMunkee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    I factory reset her phone to get back to ~140mb free space. I forwarded her hotmail account (which wasn't easy) to her gmail account and setup the gmail account on her phone (made the hotmail account primary). I setup her work account as IMAP and it still is taking up more space.

    Seriouslly, why did they give us a freakn' 140mb and not allow us to store stuff on our 4gb sdcards? She wants an Incredible (I have one) but I can't afford to buy one until we get an upgrade in another year or so :(
     
  18. enthused91

    enthused91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, can someone tell me if I am going to have to reset all the settings for applications, like calendar, astro, custom ringtones, or any other kind of regular program....?
     

Share This Page

Loading...