I've Decided to Root, But...


Last Updated:

  1. michaelearth

    michaelearth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    After hearing about how the Droid can now be Overclocked to 1ghz, it has given me a reason to finally root my Motorola Droid. But the problem is that I I have no knowledge in the area of rooting. But im not computer illiterate. So I need your guys help with the following questions:


    1. How to I Root my droid. Is there a step by step guide?
    2. After its rooted, how do I overclock it to 800mhz and than set the cpu to lower the speed when asleep and during other various tasks?
    3. Can I switch back from rooting and go back to stock android?
    4. If I were to get in a situation where I needed a replacement from Verizon, could I just switch back to stock Android and they would not be able to tell that it was rooted so that my warrant is still intact?
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. hajabooja

    hajabooja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    1 - Rooting: Installation | Sholes Read it STEP BY STEP and take your time. No one is responsible except you for bricking/damaging your phone.

    2 - Overclocking: Head over to AllDroid.org and start checking out threads over there. tasmanian_droid has a section over there all about his overclocking kernels. OR you can just flash a rom that has it all set up for you. This is much easier and the new roms out are a lot faster than stock 2.0.1. You can use the app Setcpu to adjust your clock speed and set "profiles" for your overclocking.

    3 - Unrooting: Check this thread.. its easy as pie. AllDroid - View topic - How to *completely* get back to stock (no su, no busybox) If you use this to unroot Verizon will not be able to tell you were rooted. Well... as long as all goes well.

    I recommend doing a lot of reading before you take the plunge to do all of this (not that is THAT hard to do) but its your ass if you brick it lol.
     
  3. shademar

    shademar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    4
    I won't post links, but you can go through quite a bit of the process without needing to get into adb. Google search 'root your droid' and look for a .info site for a very thorough resource on the whole process and easily switching back to stock unrooted.

    My newbish advice on what to do, should you go this route:
    root (easy!)

    Not quite as easy but critically important:
    install busybox
    install flash_image
    install sprecovery 99.2b
    These steps can be done over adb following the aforementioned guides, or by downloading an app called droidrootpro in the marketplace and carefully following the directions within.

    Reboot into recovery (now sprecovery) mode and make a nandroid backup of your system using the new menu system you'll see there. Now you have a safety net! Installing some roms seems to be as simple as loading a different nandroid backup or applying a new 'update.zip', so by this point you already know the basics. The simplest way to overclock is probably to load a rom with overclocking already enabled (for instance, bugless beast, which runs at 800mhz). More options are available if you want to start pushing code though, and the different speeds require different kernels.

    SetCPU is available on the market and has different profiles that you can set for different situations. At 800/125 I'm getter equal or better battery life than I did with the stock settings, for what it's worth.
     
  4. michaelearth

    michaelearth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok I followed the steps to rooting my droid and I'm not sure If I have successfully rooted. I have superuser permissions in my app drawer but when I try to access my recovery menu instead of going straight to it, it takes me back the the triangle withe ! in it. Does it have anything to do with that right before I pressed update in the recovery menu it said " E:Cant' open/cache/recovery/command"

    Someone please help me!

    Thanks
     
  5. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32
    Good thread... do rooted phones still automatically get the 2.1 upgrade or any othe upgrades as they become available?
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Being rooted, and installing SPRecovery console are two entirely different things. Maybe I'm misunderstanding you, but it sounds as though you're confusing the two.

    Can you still boot the phone? Also, do you have 'Terminal Emulator' installed on the phone?


    Rooting a phone does not turn OFF OTA (over the air) updates. But once rooted, it is easy enough to change the name of that file, thus cause OTA updates to be disabled.

    Some of the newer ROMs already have the name of that file changed for you.
     
  7. michaelearth

    michaelearth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    I can still boot the phone and use it normally. But I don't see termonal emulator anywhere on my phone.
     
  8. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    I wish people would seriously search for this stuff. I know there are easily 5 different guides on all this stuff that have been written out so easily that anyone should be able to understand it......
     
  9. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Goto the market and search for terminal emulator, download it and type su and hit enter. If you get permission denied then you didn't root properly. If you did do it properly then go back into droidroothelper/pro and skip to the step for installing busybox/flash_image, (the app will probably FC the first time you use it so reboot and try again) then scroll down to the part to install sprecovery, once that is done you can download any ROM you want and follow the instructions on flashing it. If you can install adb on your pc then you can get a program for your pc that will flash the overclock boot images along with wifi tether. It is on droidforums.net, I will find the link if you get that far.
     
  10. craigrn16

    craigrn16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    13
    do you loose all your apps if you root? The only reason I want to root is to get the multi touch stock browser.
     
  11. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Not if you ONLY root and don't load a rom.
     
  12. craigrn16

    craigrn16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    13
    to get the multitouch browser I'd have to load a rom right?
     
  13. michaelearth

    michaelearth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am now running 2.1 on my Moto Droid, (thanks to this guide: http://androidforums.com/how-tips/29204 ... 2-1-a.html)

    Now i want to overclock my droid. How I do that? I heard I can just flash a new rom that is already overclocked to a specific speed and then from inside that rom I can set profiles using setcpu. IS that correct?

    Thanks
     
  14. Ninthwonder

    Ninthwonder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    serious question. Does Verizon have it written somewhere in the contract that rooting your phone is in violation of any policies they have?
     

Share This Page

Loading...