Jelly Bean (Android 4.1) discussionGeneral

1. brian609

brian609 Member

So after watching the i/o I was very impressed with jelly bean. I was planning on switching from my iPhone to a S3 but now a nexus phone seems appealing. How long do you guys speculate until the S3 gets jelly bean? Also, I am rather new to android so does anyone know if the new nexus phones will be offered subsidized from ATT?

Advertisement
    :
  2. treb1797

treb1797 Well-Known Member

My guess would be 2 to 3 months w/ this phone being on all 4 major carriers the heat will be on to get it out ASAP.
  3. Shogun1

Shogun1 Member

Yeah the S3 is Samsung's flagship esign - I am sure it will be 3 months tops, but I can't say for sure considering the S2 just got ICS
  4. brian609

brian609 Member

Yeah I want the S3 but I am hoping the update to Jelly Bean doesnt take too long.

Any word on if a subsidized ATT nexus phone will ever be released? Im looking for that stock experience with limited amount of rooting and hacking.
  5. jimbo1mcm

jimbo1mcm Well-Known Member

The S3 with Jelly Bean will wipe the floor of every other phone right now. Wonder how long it will take to get the upgrade. Oh, I forgot, I'm on Verizon. Guess I'm screwed.
  6. Sandroidfan

Sandroidfan Well-Known Member

Jelly Bean is incremental update more like Froyo to Gingerbread. GB to ICS is much bigger update, so a lot of phones are still stuck with GB. I guess GSIII will get JB sometime in the Fall.

If you want JB that badly, GSM Galaxy Nexus is the only phone to get now. But its hardware is now outdated relative to GSIII and no one knows when the next nexus phone will come.
    jerofld likes this.
  7. kboss375

kboss375 Well-Known Member

I was just gonna say..we are at the mercy of Verizon...(if you decide to not root)
  8. freagul

freagul Active Member