1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Jelly Bean discussion/issues thread (released Dec. 13)Support


Last Updated:

  1. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,885
    Likes Received:
    13,071
    I can upload the ota later today if someone wants it. Its still on my sd card. I dont know how you'd install it
     

    Advertisement
  2. PattiCakeUS

    PattiCakeUS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    It's not a big deal, I just wondered why it wasn't showing up when I manually looked for updates. I'm in no rush, my phone works great as it is now.
     
  3. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    234
    You can get the stock rom on XDA already. Odex and deodex.
     
  4. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,686
    Likes Received:
    3,479
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,885
    Likes Received:
    13,071
    I was assuming no root since it was being discussed here.

    Unless they have the ruu Xda can't help
     
  6. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,686
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    EM posted early on in this thread (view the "likes" to see his post or scroll back a few posts--your choice) that if the caches are dirty/clogged, this could give one issues, especially on a huge UPGRADE as this is.

    First thing is to do a battery pull simulation reset. hold down the power button for greater than 10 seconds, you will see the lower buttons flicker and a message on the screen asking you to continue to hold the button.

    the phone should power down/reset. this is NOT a factory reset so nothing should be lost.

    once it boots back up, re-check settings. also if you have FASTBOOT turned ON, turn it OFF and test.

    IF you do not like the results from this, a factory reset is recommended. Again, smoke over EM's post to give you ideas and ways to backup.




     
    spyder40, EarlyMon and Rxpert83 like this.
  7. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,908
    Likes Received:
    964
    To add to this I was having major lag after the update and went straight for the Hard Reset and all is well on the speed side. I recommend a Back up program like My Backup Pro because it saves your Home screens. For some reason redoing home screens is my most hated thing about Hard Resets.
     
  8. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    221
    No my Handcent and Yahoo open right up and when I text someone as soon as i put in there name it drops down as I start typing. Before it wouldn't do that alot of times and the phone lagged and I had the black screen for a bit. So far it's better for me.

     
    dgrobe2112 likes this.
  9. KENNECTED

    KENNECTED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    248
    Something strange is happening.

    When I plug my device in at work (PC) to charge via the USB, somehow the USB debuggin developer options menu opens and starts.

    [​IMG]

    When at home and attached to my mac, it asks for debugging information. Also now it says I've incorrectly disconnected my device. What is this USB File Sharing

    I'm not sure why this is happening? :confused:

    In the past when I've plugged it in, it's automatically gone in as a disk drive and I just plug or unplug.

    I just want to charge or if I chose mount as a disk drive and copy some files.
     
  10. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,885
    Likes Received:
    13,071
    Usb file sharing is how you transfer files to your sd cards

    There's usually a usb tether option that pops up as well
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  11. spyder40

    spyder40 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    31

    Hadn't noticed the non-sliding on the wallpaper, bummer. My wallpaper has 3 people in the picture and now I just see the center person regardless of the page.
     
  12. spyder40

    spyder40 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    31
    Well, after several reboots (inlcuding the "battery pull" suggested by MT) everything seems to be hunky dory. Keyboard hasn't gone garbage and the black screen after a phone call isn't happening anymore. Does the cache get overwritten over time? Overall seems faster/snappier. Not real hot on the new keyboard with the number toggle on the left now instead of right (have to stretch with my thumb) and the keys seem smaller/harder to hit. Can this be changed with the stock keyboard somehow? If not I'll get used to it. Have NOT had any text notification issues so far which was my number 1 problem (missing work pages was a huge problem). Hopefully not jinxing myself but at this point pretty darn happy!
     
    marctronixx and Rxpert83 like this.
  13. KENNECTED

    KENNECTED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    248
    Is this how is being worded now? Prior to the update this never happened. In the past there was an option to "mount as disk" or "just charge" and a few other options, however, it never opened or activated any USB development options or Sprint hotspot & tethering.
     
  14. vicshalls

    vicshalls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    25
    I keep getting an error for permission denied for my Gmail account but I am getting my mail so I don't know what that means.
     
  15. dbastl

    dbastl Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    11
    The proximity sensor is not working on phone calls. I can deal with all the other bugs that have come with this update, but this is unacceptable. I have done a few hard resets, but nothing seems to work. Is anyone else having this problem?
     
  16. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    221
    I didn't notice till my guy showed me on his but your screens scroll all the way through. He tried to trick me and goes how many screens do you have to the left and right? I am liking Google Now even though I have had Jelly Bean on my Transformer Prime tablet for a bit now I never really used it. One of my cards popped up today on my phone while at the Hair Dressers telling me how long it was gonna take me to get home. LOL!

    I had a couple people in my contacts where it didn't get there names right like a co-worker Juan it would say 1. And my friend Jeanne it wouldn't get but now it does. Google voice is so much better now. I also use Speak to it Assistant which you can speak through your bluetooth headset and it uses Google Voice and it works better now. I was on the expressway last night and I brought up google voice to text and it worked great. Usually while driving it's not so good. But I have no lag and am happy with it so far.
     
  17. Tigger 1

    Tigger 1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    5
    Not quite sure how resetting phone will fix a wallpaper resize issue? I got the people app fixed now all I have is the wallpaper and an icon that will take me straight to my picture gallery with one tap.
     
  18. Twistax

    Twistax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    14
    Anyone having issues with HANDCENT SMS notifications now with Jelly Bean?
     
  19. gts

    gts Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I didn't know anything about any of this until this morning. I just figured I"d check for updates and one came up so I downloaded and installed it. It is JB. Haven't had a chance to really see any difference as far as speed but I HATE HATE HATE HATE the new keyboard now. I used to have arrow keys to move the cursor but now they are gone. I'm PISSED!! That was one of my huge things I loved about this phone vs. all my friend's iPhones. Does anyone know if I can download the old keyboard or if there are other keyboards on the Play store that have the cursor keys?
     
  20. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,885
    Likes Received:
    13,071
    There's an option in settings to have arrow keys

    [​IMG]
     
    kct1975 and PattiCakeUS like this.
  21. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    59
    Gts, goto settings, keyboard, HTC Sense input, make sure to check arrow keys.
     
  22. gts

    gts Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    AWESOME!!! Thanks so much! I'm happy now! :)
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  23. cuellarm

    cuellarm Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is anyone having issues with Google Navigation? It is acting up on my phone where it freezes, force closes, etc. So far the only issue I have noticed.
     
  24. nesman89

    nesman89 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    my sensor was having the same issue as many others. i took my Zagg Shield off and my sensor worked fine. i had to replace my shield with a newer updated shield. it has been working fine ever since. make sure you bring your old shield back and they should replace it for free.

    now if i could get my battery life back to what it used be i would be very happy.
     
  25. JimKnuckles

    JimKnuckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    165
    Any info on what exactly is different when the power saver mode is turned on?
     

Share This Page

Loading...