Jelly Bean/GPS?Support


Last Updated:

  1. OSU15

    OSU15 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did a factory reset on my phone and now my GPS doesn't work. It works for weather apps and facebook and stuff like that but not when trying to use the navigation. Any tips on how to fix this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,617
    Likes Received:
    20,416
    First check to see if you have it on ..menu/settings/location services.

    If no luck with that , download this app, GPS Status & Toolbox and see if your phone can get a lock on satellites.
    In the app, hit menu/tools/Manage A-GPS state, then follow the instructions.
     
  3. OSU15

    OSU15 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    My GPS is on and it works for weather, maps, and any other app that involves finding location. However, when I try to use the navigation it can't find my location. Any reason to this? Also, I tried your advice and it still does not work.
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,617
    Likes Received:
    20,416
    Do you use Google maps for navigation?
     
  5. s_anella

    s_anella Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    Same problem for me (and my sisters as well). I've tried all below and still had the issue even with gps tools running. I see lots of chatter on the internet about this but no concrete resolution or even understanding of what the issue is.
     
  6. OSU15

    OSU15 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah I use Google Maps
     
  7. ldivinag

    ldivinag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    4
    when you folks use the GPS tools, how many birds is it locking onto?
     
  8. s_anella

    s_anella Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    18 of 19 if I am reading it right
     
  9. ktchong

    ktchong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    50
    Did you get the update from Samsung or flash it via Odin?
     
  10. s_anella

    s_anella Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I downloaded it thru kies
     
  11. OSU15

    OSU15 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Downloaded through Kies. Don't know why this is happening. Before I performed the factory reset my GPS was working perfectly and ever since I did the factory reset the GPS doesn't work in the Navigation App. However, it still works with every other app
     
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,617
    Likes Received:
    20,416
    Just for giggles, try and use TeleNav. and see if it works on that.
     
  13. OSU15

    OSU15 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually it doesn't work with other apps. The GPS as a whole does not work ever since the factory reset. Any quick fixes?

    Edit: I'm confused but I do think that it works with every app except the navigation app. Came at such a bad time when I really would like to use it to help me get to the airport.
     
  14. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,617
    Likes Received:
    20,416
    What carrier are you with? You said you did a factory reset. Was that after an update for the OS?
     
  15. OSU15

    OSU15 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have ATT. Yeah it was probably two months after updating your jelly bean. GPS worked perfectly until I did the reset.
     
  16. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    All i can think of is another reset man :(
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  17. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,617
    Likes Received:
    20,416
    Either that or install the JB firmware update via ODIN.
     
  18. OSU15

    OSU15 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    What is ODIN? I only know of Kies
     
  19. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    Odin is a program that lets u download any suitable firmware and flash it onto your phone. Best place to find the firmware is Sammobile.com (be completely sure its the correct firmware for your model/carrier) :thumbup:
     
    Mikestony likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...