General Jelly Bean Tips and Tricks

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Unforgiven, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven -.. --- - / -.. .- ... ....
    Moderator
    4,238

    Jun 23, 2010
    32,558
    31,019
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    So this is a new OS for all of us and many of you are coming from Gingerbread or older versions. I figured we needed a place to share tips & tricks that we find so we can all learn together.

    I'll start with this one for folks coming from pre-ICS. The menu button you have all become familiar with is no longer around. You will now see three vertical dots that provide the same functionality. For apps that are designed to UI guidelines it will appear on the top right corner of the app. For apps that haven't been updated to ICS/JB design guidelines it will appear on your soft key bar to the right of the task switcher.
     

    Advertisement

  2. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member
    163

    May 17, 2010
    1,067
    252
    163
    technical illustrator
    UK
    Here is one:

    Press volume down and the power button to take a screen shot on the Nexus 7.
     
    pennblogh, Cath201, yadanac and 18 others like this.
  3. ClarkMP

    ClarkMP Member
    6

    Jul 2, 2012
    7
    2
    6
    Sales Rep/Corporate
    Some Where


    NO.WAY.

    Thank you!
     
    CARRJ142 likes this.
  4. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member
    163

    May 17, 2010
    1,067
    252
    163
    technical illustrator
    UK
    lfc4ever, zoxxo, Bigherb and 13 others like this.
  5. Markg

    Markg Well-Known Member
    63

    Apr 23, 2010
    256
    41
    63
    Find someone else who has one, however you do it, and try Beam. Just hold the two devices back to back and tap the screen of the one you want to share from. Hey presto, the photo, app, maps place page, game, contact, anything is transferred across. It's not totally instant but it is very cool.
     
    Muqtar likes this.
  6. Slayerx

    Slayerx Active Member
    16

    Jul 10, 2012
    35
    2
    16
    UK
    Thanks very cool :)
     
  7. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven -.. --- - / -.. .- ... ....
    Moderator
    4,238

    Jun 23, 2010
    32,558
    31,019
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I think I heard that if you say Google it will bring up voice search.
     
  8. Markg

    Markg Well-Known Member
    63

    Apr 23, 2010
    256
    41
    63
    I was initially frustrated at the need to have a settings app (it's not an app I know) on the home screen to access settings. I just realised that if you swipe down from the top as you would to access notifications and you can access settings from there (the slider bars). Also you can lock the auto-rotate from there.
    I still don't know what's wrong with just having a static menu button but maybe I'll get used to it.
     
    jamb046 likes this.
  9. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven -.. --- - / -.. .- ... ....
    Moderator
    4,238

    Jun 23, 2010
    32,558
    31,019
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    In the app tray at the top of the screen is a link to the Play store. Also, you can switch between apps and widgets.
     
  10. Markg

    Markg Well-Known Member
    63

    Apr 23, 2010
    256
    41
    63
    Just while holding it? Without pressing anything?
     
  11. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven -.. --- - / -.. .- ... ....
    Moderator
    4,238

    Jun 23, 2010
    32,558
    31,019
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Ah, see, that's what I get for saying things from memory and not actually having one. You can do it if you have now open. Just say google and it will search. Found this that may be of interest too.

    12 tips for using the Google Nexus 7 tablet | Computerworld Blogs
     
    Elefantes, wyzird, godsdragon and 3 others like this.
  12. mzbagasra

    mzbagasra Member
    6

    Jul 13, 2012
    7
    2
    6
    Hi,

    Is there way to get facebook widget more then 4 x 2? btw screen capture doesn't work.

    Originally Posted by CarsnGadgets
    Here is one:

    Press volume down and the power button to take a screen shot on the Nexus 7.
     
  13. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven -.. --- - / -.. .- ... ....
    Moderator
    4,238

    Jun 23, 2010
    32,558
    31,019
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I believe on some widgets you can long press and then resize them. I know if ICS I can do that with the stack widget for the Phandroid app.

    Regarding the screenshot trick you have to press them simultaneously and hold for ~1 second. you will hear a camera click and a quick photo animation and get a notification in the status bar.

    I hope this helps.:)
     
  14. viffer800

    viffer800 Well-Known Member
    38

    Sep 27, 2011
    103
    10
    38
    godsdragon, nynvolt and Atma like this.
  15. The_Gnome_

    The_Gnome_ Well-Known Member
    63

    Nov 16, 2009
    418
    49
    63
    Sarnia, ON, Canada
    Press and hold on the home software button to be able to launch Google Now from anywhere.
     
  16. Synergic

    Synergic Member
    16

    Jun 4, 2011
    11
    4
    16
    jlheureux and CarsnGadgets like this.
  17. Markg

    Markg Well-Known Member
    63

    Apr 23, 2010
    256
    41
    63
    Don't forget to tell now to do a barrel roll.

    I actually did this with my voice.
     
    walpow, ozzy8160, Sylon and 2 others like this.
  18. ssick92

    ssick92 Well-Known Member
    43

    Jan 19, 2010
    289
    41
    43
    To get my degree
    Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
    This is so far the best tip. Pretty damn funny how Google throws random easter eggs everywhere
     
  19. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven -.. --- - / -.. .- ... ....
    Moderator
    4,238

    Jun 23, 2010
    32,558
    31,019
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I just noticed a settings icon at the right end of the volume bar. When you click it it allows you to adjust the notification volume separate from the other volumes. :)
     
    Cath201, Vuirich, godsdragon and 2 others like this.
  20. Markg

    Markg Well-Known Member
    63

    Apr 23, 2010
    256
    41
    63
    Uninstall apps just by long pressing them in the apps tray and dragging them to the top of the screen.
     
  21. weeevil

    weeevil New Member
    6

    Jul 21, 2012
    1
    9
    6
    CEO
    Castle Donington
    Jelly Bean asteroid game:

    Settings / About Phone / ... tap 3 times fast on the 'Android Version' label, then, tap once on red jelly bean to see face and finally press and hold screen for the game!
     
    Chappie, therocque, jlheureux and 6 others like this.
  22. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member
    533

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Welcome to the forums weeevil. :ciao:

    Thanks for the Easter Egg. :D
     
    SimonPG likes this.
  23. xrae

    xrae Well-Known Member
    36

    Mar 17, 2011
    146
    9
    36
    Female
    How do I switch between apps? On my other Droid, I long-press the Home button, then choose from most recently used. Thanks.
     
  24. giomasterg

    giomasterg Well-Known Member
    16

    Dec 28, 2009
    83
    4
    16
    Maryland
    Press the button to the right of the home button the one with 2 squares. It will bring up all of your recent apps
     
  25. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven -.. --- - / -.. .- ... ....
    Moderator
    4,238

    Jun 23, 2010
    32,558
    31,019
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    You can close apps by swiping them off the stack. It isn't a force close though.
     
    calbearz24 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...