JIT for 2.1 - Haven't seen a thread about this


Last Updated:

  1. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    Has anyone else tried JIT (Just In Time compiler) for 2.1 yet? I installed it tonight, and it works great!

    droidsp0t – The Incredible Resource JIT for 2.1 – SPEED up your phone!

    I'm running the stock Sense 2.1 rom with Hydrakernel's #3 Overclocked Undervolted 1.15ghz 25mv Overvolt with Wireless N, and JIT for 2.1.

    Before JIT, I was getting in the low to mid 500's on Quadrant. After installing, I'm getting in the mid 700's. Also, I tested at 11.21 MFLOPS on Linpack. Not bad for the stock rom :D

    **Some have complained that the initial boot takes a LONG time (upwards of 3-5 minutes). Each reboot after this should be normal**

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
    TheWhiteBandito likes this.
  2. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    Going to have to try this, I'll leave feedback. Does it just increase Linpack and Quadrant scores or overall device performance?
     
  3. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Its depressing its so low for 2.1 JIT.
     
  4. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    I can imagine that it's MUCH better with 2.2, but definitely a nice boost than without it :D
     
  5. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    The device feels overall quicker and more responsive. Scrolling through my apps list doesn't seem to lag at all anymore, and it just feels "snappier".
     
  6. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    Couldn't get it to work with the 1.15 OCOV kernel... And it says it's for Senseless ROMs? How did you get it to work with the Stock ROM? I got a bootloop.

    EDIT: I just uninstalled and reinstalled JIT, now my phone boots up... time for some Linpack and Quadrant. Don't know why it bootlooped the first time.

    Getting about 10.8 MFLOPS in Linpack and 719 in Quadrant. Keep in mind that I have a ton of apps installed and running in the background. Running stock 2.1 ROM and the 1.15 ocov with wireless N kernel.
     
  7. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    Honestly, I did read that the XDA thread mentioned "SenseLess", however this is working flawlessly on my stock rom WITH SENSE and with Hyrdakernel #3.
     
  8. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yup, just edited my previous post and now all is working. Good stuff right here! I'm glad Froyo has this built in!
     
  9. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    Glad you got it to work :D

    Yeah, I was getting much lower scores until I rebooted and ran again. Enjoy!
     
  10. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yup, once again rebooted and got up to 11.1. Definitely impressive. I was getting 6.9 before I rooted :D
     
  11. silverxbv2

    silverxbv2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
    Is this working out good still? I heard it has reboot issues.
     
  12. Mezmryz03

    Mezmryz03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    33
    Anyone try this with the leaked OTA on a rooted device? I would love to try this out.
     
  13. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    good to know its working on stock sense better... it was rebooting a lot at one point
     
  14. mgraham

    mgraham Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    JIT is nice and I've used it with YASR since 07/08 (disabled it yesterday). JIT improved my phone speed, but I experienced 2 reboots while I was using it and Tapatalk wouldn't work with it. I've read a thread that indicates that the XDA app won't work with it either.

    Once I disabled JIT, Tapatalk started working again. Nice program (Tapatalk), but I'm not sure it works with enough forums to warrant keeping it over JIT.
     
  15. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    Not sure why you had that issue. TapTalk works absolutely fine for me right now with JIT enabled :confused:
     
  16. mgraham

    mgraham Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    If you google for "tapatalk jit", you'll see that I'm not the only one. Let me try re-enabling it and I'll let you know how it goes.

    Edit: Re-enabled and getting "Manager is shut down" messages. Squintz, are you using the YASR ROM?

    Edit: More info. When I first re-enabed JIT, XDA worked through tapatalk. I added "Android Central" to my forums and then tried to sign in there. When I did that, I got the "Manager is shut down" error and then I got that same error when I tried XDA again. Later today, I'll try disabling JIT, make sure I am signed into the forums I have and verify they are working, and then re-enable JIT and be sure to not add any new forums.
     
  17. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    I'm using the bone-stock rom with Sense and JIT is definetely enabled. Here's a screen shot using TapTalk after logging into LS2.com...

    [​IMG]
     
  18. mgraham

    mgraham Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well first, I'm using YASR so we aren't using the same rom. Second, I can use Tapatalk with jit enabled as long as I don't try to add a new forum. I just disabled, made sure my two forums work, renabled, and they still work. I bet I can break tapatalk by adding a new one.
     
  19. Dsoto87

    Dsoto87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    13
    Cool thanks. Works for me on stock rom with a hydra kernel. Hitting around 740 on quadrant and low 11s in linpack.

    I did notice that my phone seemed to take forever to boot. I was just about to pull the battery when it finally started up.
     
  20. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    Hmm my phone was locking up more often, I disabled JIT and it no longer does that. I'll have to try a senseless rom at some point because I'm running the stock rom
     
  21. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    The initial boot takes a LONG time. I was about to do the same thing, but then finally completed. Every boot afterward has been normal.
     
  22. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    I'll have to watch out for this issue. So far, hasn't locked up or rebooted on me once. Are you running any unique apps?
     
  23. jayisking

    jayisking Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
  24. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    I wouldn't say I'm running anything out of the ordinary. The main ones are LauncherPro, Handcent, Dolphin HD, Google Voice, Swype, Twidroyd, Last.FM, Cubed, SportsTap, a battery widget and a digital clock widget. Nothing is really that unique, but I was getting a lot of force quits and it slowed my phone down until I could force quit the app.
     
  25. Bl4z3

    Bl4z3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just finished installing. I got a 745 from Quadrant :D my previous high was 604.
    I'm using the stock 2.1 rom with sense and a Hydra 1.15Ghz OC 25OV/UV kernel. No reboots so far, seems pretty stable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...