Jittery Home Screen navigation on Froyo ROMs


Last Updated:

  1. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    So I've tried out both Froyo ROMs (KaosFroyo v24 and CELBFroyo 1.4) and when flicking between home screens it's just not smooth at all. I did a full wipe before each install and didn't even install any apps. It does benchmark nearly twice as fast as any 2.1 ROM, but the experience of using the phone just seems slower and laggier on the Froyo ROMs. Am I crazy? Does anyone else get this behavior? Oh, and yes, I do overclock to 748Mhz each time. Even opening apps and scrolling through menus is slow and jittery. I brought this up in another thread and most people mention they don't have this problem and their experience is fast and smooth, but I just don't see that at all on mine.
     

    Advertisement
  2. woofers02

    woofers02 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    One, after initially flashing the ROM there will be lag for little while as your contacts are syncing. Two, go into your settings and turn off your transition animations. The Eris is BARELY powerful enough to effectively run Froyo. Give it a reboot or two as well.

    I just upgraded from Kaos v23 to v24 today and everything is running smooth.

    One other thing, if I OC too much I'll begin to notice a decline in performance even before freezing and crashing. Right now I'm at 604/729 and everything is smooth and snappy.
     
  3. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    FWIW,

    It's strange, but I've been playing with my SetCPU on CELBFroyo1.4 and noticed less lag/jitteriness with the stock settings and more when I try to crank it up.
     
  4. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    118
    I've had the same problems. I've tried all the froyo roms and they just seem slower to me. Jumped right back to white widow and everything is so smooth.
     
  5. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    I'm currently runningPlainJaneT2v2.0 at 748Mhz and I love it, it's buttery smooth. I just can't tear myself away from Sense.
     
  6. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    It definitely acts up even after syncing.

    I simply don't believe this at all. It benchmarks must faster on Froyo and when OCed, the Eris is very capable. It even lags when flicking between home screens on Froyo, you can't tell me this has to do with transition animations. I've turned on full animations in every other ROM i've ever tried and never had a problem. That includes sliding and zooming transitions.
     
  7. woofers02

    woofers02 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're probably right on the animations, although I have no other explanation why my KaosFroyo is running as smooth and snappy as any other ROM I've installed.

    I get the impression that Froyo almost has to "settle in" before it begins to run smoothly.
     
  8. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Perhaps I'll give it a try again this weekend. The experience was definitely not pleasant at all, and I used it for probably half an hour or so before giving up and going back to PlainJaneV2
     
  9. emunny

    emunny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    for you to feel any difference on smoothness you gotta let the rom sit on your phone for at least a day to get the feel of it you cant just install it play with it for 30 min and expect greatness it takes time when you install new roms
     
    rmartin27 likes this.
  10. rmartin27

    rmartin27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've probably flashed/wipe at least 5 times. I had many problems with KaosFroyo v23 and I had to flash v24 twice and its finally what it's cracked up to be. Running very fast and stable at 768/525mhz and get about 11-12 hours of batterylife before the setPCU profile kicks in. Give it another shot. Dont be worried you if you flash it once and its laggy...just wipe and flash again. Hope it works out for you. It finally did for me.
     
  11. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Wow, while this may be true given the evidence, I just can't see it being normal. Is there something weird about 2.2 that causes this because a fresh install of any 2.1 ROM is blazing fast seconds after the install, even when syncing.
     
  12. dwcasey

    dwcasey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    9
    Could it be the launchers these builds are using? I'm currently on PlainJaneT2v2.0 as well, but I have tried Kaos and Cyanogen and was not terribly impressed. I wanted to like them, but not using a stock launcher ( like Home ) is why I left.

    I've tried those other launchers on Eris stock 2.1v3 and over time, they just didn't perform well.

    What about their implementation of OpenGL?
     
  13. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I very much agree with that after only v23 and now 24 and a short attempt with Cyan last week.

    Paring down animations to nothing, tweaking away all of the resource taxing stuff like haptic feedback (or at least shortening it to 10 rather than the stock 35), etc, helps a lot. I have not yet overclocked KaosFroyo v24 yet, but will here in a minute (trying to get some work done ;)).

    I am beginning to like 2.2 very much after a bit of serious configuration.
     
  14. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    118
    How do you shorten haptic feedback?
     
  15. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Doesn't froyo auto download market apps on initial setup? Could it be doing this and causing your slowdown?
     
  16. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    In 2.2, menu > settings > language and keyboard > HTC_IME mod > sound and vibration > custom vibration length
     
  17. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    118
    Oh, you're talking about the keyboard. I thought you meant for the softkeys at the bottom.
     
  18. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    Just a question: Why is it common for people to have to flash a more than once when changing ROMS? What is the issue that occurs when flashing? I'm not tech savvy, but I would like to know why "wipe and reflash" is always the first answer.
     
  19. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Good, basic question.

    Flashing is the process of installing the ROM; it's just the word that's used because you're affecting the deeper portions of the system, actually replacing most of it.

    Getting familiar with the menus in the recovery area is a great way to begin to understand rooting.

    [​IMG]

    Wiping paves the way for a fresh ROM install. Sometimes it is not necessary and you will see developer notes saying that.. most often when upgrading from one version of a ROM to another of the same ROM.
     
  20. jasonh

    jasonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    5
    One thing I noticed is the higher I went with my clock speed, the worse things got. 710 is stable for me, but if I go any higher, things get laggy. Oh, and changing from SetCPU to OverclockWidget helped too.

    All I know, is KF24 on my Eris is super smooth and quick.

    edit - I also removed ADW and installed it from the market to help with lagginess and FC's.
     
  21. Slewman

    Slewman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    been running KaosFroyo for a few days, just flashed v24 last night... havent had any problems... its amazing, i love it, never going back!

    when i first rooted my leaked v3 phone, i loaded kaoslegendary rom, which was fine, but i did have some issues. i asked surgeon, and he said that some roms require a factory wipe, flash the rom, then a davlik cache wipe... i tried it, didnt fix some of the bugs i was seeing, but performance was better... if you have been flashing over and over again to try to make it faster, you may want to try it
     
  22. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    I meant a factory wipe, flash, factory wipe to fix problems, but your method works too I guess :)
     
  23. Slewman

    Slewman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    lol... i did try the facotry wipe, flash, factory wipe, but it was removing all the apps that were installed with the rom... superuser permissions wasnt there, setCPU wasnt there (on the kaoslegendary rom) and i was having trouble giving processes root access... tried it again with a dalvik wipe instead of factory for the wipe after flash, seemed to fix things.
     
  24. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    Oh ok, then thats good :) so many different wipes got me confuzzled :D
     
  25. driverx125

    driverx125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    2
    When i try CELB i dont have any of google apps how do i get those back
     

Share This Page

Loading...